Sun-Dried Tomato Cedar Plank Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
i never liked salmon.... until i had this, then i fell in love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
The salmon was amazing, but I'll give some pointers. There's absolutely no need to brush the cedar planks w/ the olive oil, further there's really no need to even brush the salmon w/ the olive oil, especially b/c the salad dressing will have oil in it. Try to avoid oil packed sun dried tomatoes, and go w/ regular sun dried tomatoes that are loose packed. This will turn the salmon into a much healthier dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This was my first time grilling salmon, with or without cedar planks, and it turned out amazing. Everyone loved it. I did end up marinading the salmon in the dressing and a few sun-dried tomatoes for a couple hours before grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This was probably the best salmon recipe I have ever made. The flavor was great and the fish was extremely tender. The only change I made was to mix the ingredients together and marinate the fish for two hours. I don't know if this makes a big difference or not, but it certainly didn't hurt! Just one word of warning - make sure your plank is well soaked and that the heat on the grill is not too high. My first plank caught on fire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
So very yummy and so simple! A very different Salmon recipe that is sure to please. The flavours combine wonderfully and seems like it should be so much more work than it really is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Three words: SEALED THE DEAL!! I made this for someone who I just started dating and she loved it. I eat salmon a lot, especially when eating out, and this is right up there with the best I ever had. I had to bake it, since it was raining that day, but it was still excellent. Also I marinated the salmon for a few hours in the sun-dried tomatoes and dressing. I bought an untreated cedar board from Lowes for $5 and they cut it into eight 1ft planks for me. I soaked the planks over night, coated them with oil, and let them warm with the oven. I think that the warmer the planks get the better. This was a big hit and is my new favorite salmon recipe, can't wait to make it on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Col3mag

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Different & delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonaCarole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Pat Hawley made this for Memorial Day 2008 and it was absolutely scrumptious! Leftovers the next day were equally delicious! Awesome - and tastes gourmet! Perfect for company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I made this a few years ago when my sister and her kids came to visit. I don't remember if I got it on this web site or elsewhere. I didn't have a plank. I just put it on the grill with some foil underneath spayed with a little cooking spray to keep it from sticking. I used a whole salmon filet and besides not using the plank I followed the recipe exactly. It came out great. Even my husband enjoyed it and he doesn't care for fish. My daughter asked me to make it this July 4th but I couldn't remember where the recipe came from. I so glad I found it again!!! This time I'll will use the plank.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cedar Planked Salmon

See how to make cedar planked salmon with a simple Asian marinade.

Fennel-Smoked Salmon

See how to make delicious hot-smoked salmon and cherry tomato salad.

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States