Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
A great, simple recipe. I followed the ingredient amounts exactly but I kept the tomatoes and basil separate because I wanted to taste those flavors individually. My only slight complaint is that there is no garlic in the recipe, but I put garlic in just about everything so I am a bit bias. This is a delicious recipe and I'll be making it often. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Milly and John both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buddingchef

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I tried it with canned Italian tomatoes and fresh basil from my garden-I'll definitely do the sundried tomatoes next time! It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Callow

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyndhurst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Good but not great. Definitely makes a lot. If I make it again I will be sure to cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Whenever I used to come home from work travels my husband would have a pint of Safeway's orzo/spinach salad waiting for me in the airport. Sweet, right? But expensive. I'm a big orzo fan, and in an effort to cut down on our monthly food costs I decided to give this recipe a whirl. This is an A in my book, and was easily transformed into an A+ with some freshly chopped spinach and feta cheese (combined with or in lieu of Parmesan; your choice). Plus, it was only $5.00 to make enough orzo salad for my husband and I for the entire week! Score!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lourdez01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This has become my go-to recipes for potlucks - good stuff. Sometimes I add a few chopped Kalamata olives for extra tastiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitschyMissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
i halfed the recipe, and used one tbsp basil, one tbsp italian seasoning. added 1/4 teaspoon fresh garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Nice recipe. I did not have fresh basil, so I used marinated artichokes which obviously didn't give the same zingy flavor so I had to add some additional dried herbs to give it a kick. Served it cold with the Caribbean Holiday marinated shrimp recipe from this website. Beautiful meal sitting on the back of a yacht in the Bahamas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
very nice. it's a good idea to reserve the oil and add it incrementally to your taste. (if you like this, i recommend the sun-dried tomato tapenade on this site as well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I made the recipe exactly as written except for the addition of feta cheese on top. I thought it was pretty good with a little more salt, unfortunantly my family did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States