Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I found this recipe to be really easy but the orzo to be just ok. I had to spice it up a lot. I served it hot and after following the original recipe, I added sautéed garlic, onions and spinach into the orzo. I used grated parmesan cheese to taste (which ended up being a lot) as well as salt, and very little pepper. I also used lemon juice and a pinch of brown sugar. After those altercations the dish was great. Ill defiantly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Very nice. Next time will double everything except orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Great recipe but I agree with other reviews. Double the amount of basil and sun dried tomatoes. This is a great pre- and post- workout salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Jackson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clear Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Thanks for sharing this delicious flavor combo! I make my orzo a little differently and I halved the recipe as it is just the 2 of us. I melt 2 tbsps butter in a saucepan and then add a cup of orzo and saute until lightly toasted. Add 14.5 ozs of water and 2 teaspoons of chicken base and bring to a boil. Boil for about 15 minutes or until liquid is absorbed. I then added the tomatoes, basil and Parmesan cheese. Salted and peppered to taste and left out the olive oil as it had great flavor, and I didn't feel it was needed. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
We made this for a dinner party, this is superb for people who are trying to cater to a more vegetarian pallet OR anyone, actually! Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I tried this recipe tonight and it was wonderful. I love sun dried tomatos...so there you go. You can take this receipe as is or add your own touches to fit your taste. But some times less is more. Will make again. Thanks for the receipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Great tasting and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This was really good as a warm side dish, but as a cold salad it was very dry and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This is the BOMB! Served at dinner party and everyone loved it. So easy. I had everything in my pantry and used fresh basil from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Delicious.....added a few toasted pine nuts and fresh garlic from the farmer's market....perfect for a summer potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States