Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
I love this recipe. I've made it a lot, so I do a lot of tinkering with the way I make it, but the main change I recommend is increasing the sun-dried tomatoes. It gives the recipe extra flavor. The other changes I make are mostly for convenience so that I can do most of the work ahead of time. Here's the way I make it: I chop two 1-oz packages of fresh basil and put them in a food processor. I add an 8.5 oz jar of sun-dried tomato halves (marinated in oil with some spices). I chop that in the food processor and put it in a tupperware container. I add 1 teaspoon each of salt and pepper and about a tablespoon of olive oil (because of the oil in the jar of tomatoes, this would even be okay without any extra oil). This makes around 2 cups of sauce, which I can then refrigerate for a week or so. When I'm ready for a quick meal, I cook up some orzo and stir in some parmesan cheese and sauce. The sauce is very flavorful, so it goes a long way. 2 cups is more than enough for a family dinner. I've tried this recipe both cold and hot, and I definitely like it better hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Yummy! I ended up using mini shells instead of orzo because my grocery store didn't have any, but this was super tasty! My husband preferred it warm, right after it was made, but I liked it both cold and warm. I was making it for a family get together, so I doubled the amount of pasta but tripled the other ingredients. I made it in a blender because I don't have a food processor and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Metta Karuna
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This recipe is a family favorite. We have made it twice since last week when I first came across it. The first time I halved the orzo but kept the rest the same and it had perfect flavor. The second time I made it for dinner and for a heavier meal I made it with bow-ties upping the amount of sun-dried tomatoes. We love this!!! This is a family favorite! Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
all i have to say is YUMMMMMMM...... thx for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Tastes great and quick to make! Family loved it and it was even better after sitting a day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Great salad. Made it a day in advance, left out the feta cheese though. It was delicious. It all went! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
This is fantastic! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This is an easy tasty pasta dish. I honestly had to make more!!! It went fast! It was a little bland to our liking so i threw in more sundried tomato and salt and some red pepper flakes to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelina Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I didn't change a thing and it was great! I'm adding this to my sidedish files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Very tasty! Hit at home & office - came home w/ no leftovers. Some liked it hot, others cold but good both ways! Did follow others in not adding extra olive oil, & when I needed a bit, I just used the oil from when I drained the jar of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States