Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Whenever I used to come home from work travels my husband would have a pint of Safeway's orzo/spinach salad waiting for me in the airport. Sweet, right? But expensive. I'm a big orzo fan, and in an effort to cut down on our monthly food costs I decided to give this recipe a whirl. This is an A in my book, and was easily transformed into an A+ with some freshly chopped spinach and feta cheese (combined with or in lieu of Parmesan; your choice). Plus, it was only $5.00 to make enough orzo salad for my husband and I for the entire week! Score!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lourdez01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This has become my go-to recipes for potlucks - good stuff. Sometimes I add a few chopped Kalamata olives for extra tastiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitschyMissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
i halfed the recipe, and used one tbsp basil, one tbsp italian seasoning. added 1/4 teaspoon fresh garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Nice recipe. I did not have fresh basil, so I used marinated artichokes which obviously didn't give the same zingy flavor so I had to add some additional dried herbs to give it a kick. Served it cold with the Caribbean Holiday marinated shrimp recipe from this website. Beautiful meal sitting on the back of a yacht in the Bahamas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
very nice. it's a good idea to reserve the oil and add it incrementally to your taste. (if you like this, i recommend the sun-dried tomato tapenade on this site as well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I made the recipe exactly as written except for the addition of feta cheese on top. I thought it was pretty good with a little more salt, unfortunantly my family did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I am surprised that so many people loved this recipe. (It's hard to tell if people are rating the original, or their doctored up versions). This was extremely bland. I can imagine a lot of ways to improve it, but I can't recommend as it is written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I added some garlic and balsamic vinegar and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I made this because I had all the ingredients. I didn't think it would be anything great. I was so wrong! Yummy! I am making it again with ditalini pasta tonight for dinner. I like it cold and I'm gonna leave out the olive oil and drizzle a little of the sundried tomato oil on instead. I love it with crushed red peppers and sea salt. Gotta go I'm drooling all over the computer keys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I thought this was a great recipe but had to add a bit extra. I sauteed some garlic and through in some fresh, chopped spinach. I didn't have fresh basil but did use the kind in the jar. I didn't bother to use a food processor for the tomatoes but I did chop them up by hand. Overall, it's a great recipe! I've made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States