Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Wonderful pasta side dish! I love sun dried tomatoes and with parmesan cheese and fresh chopped basil mixed in with the orzo pasta it is simply 5 stars in my book. I scaled down this recipe for two people thou I wished now that I hadn't because we gobbled this up and it was just tasty. I added a T of olive oil instead of 2T because I used some of the oil from the sun dried tomato jar to add some flavor to the pasta. I seasoned this with salt and black pepper and served this warm alongside, "Mushroom Stuffed Chicken Roll Ups," and "Smothered Green Beans, " all from this site. They complemented each other very well. Amazing flavors and wishing I could have some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Simple yet fantastic. Try this, you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is very good, it taste better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Pretty good, but not a total keeper! I think I will keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Loved it!! Served it warm with Garlic Parmesan Chicken & Steamed Asparagus and it was an awesome dinner! My 15 year old daughter loved it too!! Very yummy!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This recipe tasted nice. I made a few changes, including boiling the orzo in vegetable stock to give it extra flavor and adding feta instead of parmesan cheese to give it a more Greek taste. I also added pine nuts to give it a bit of a crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olney, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made this over the weekend and it was a big hit with my family and our guests. Next time I will add a bit more sun-dried tomatoes, but that is just because we love them. It was simple and delish - both warm and cold, and I look forward to making it again. Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ClydesdaleGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
We found this recipe fairly bland and doctored it up with artichoke hearts, black olives and balsamic vinegar which helped but didn't make it "wow".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEANKNOTTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
A great, simple recipe. I followed the ingredient amounts exactly but I kept the tomatoes and basil separate because I wanted to taste those flavors individually. My only slight complaint is that there is no garlic in the recipe, but I put garlic in just about everything so I am a bit bias. This is a delicious recipe and I'll be making it often. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States