Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
It's four star as it is by our tastes but it's five plus with a little tinkering. Thought the salad was a bit dry as made by the recipe, although we didn't let it sit overnight which may have changed my opinion. Added probably 1/3% more each fresh basil and oil from the sun-dried tomatoes. Added some balsamic and lemon juice to taste, some Walla Walla onion for crunch and some fresh cherry tomatoes out of the garden just because we had them. The orzo sucked up all that extra juice and it was dynamite. The wife couldn't wait for it to sit and marinate. Added some Genoa salami and Kalamata olives to my portion the next day and it was even better. Thanks to kgwen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I had never eaten orzo before, so chose this recipe to try it. We had this hot as a side dish, then cold the next day with sandwiches. It is very good both ways!! Would definately make again!! Thanks kgwen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Followed the recipe and was quite impressed with the end result. Delicious. Will definitely recommend to my daughters & friends .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I loved this. I have recipe very similar to this that I really like better as I added some feta cheese, some canned artichokes and sliced olives then stuffed large scooped out tomatoes using the scooped portion with the orzo. If you want to get a little fancier try this sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rogue River, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
This was delicious and very easy to make. The only change I made was to use the oil from the sun dried tomatoes instead of straight olive oil. A lovely accompaniment to Italian Rib Eye from this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Made tonight...awesome. But also used as a base. I did not add olive oil but simply used the rest of the flavored oil in the sun dried tomato jar. I also squeezed half a lemon on top, and added a LOT more herbs from my own garden (basil, oregano, parsley), plenty of pepper and then i also cut up some fresh baby spinach. Salt/pepper to taste and voila! Know it will be even better tomorrow morning for hubbie's lunch through the week :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gloucester Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Cut the recipe in half and followed the adjusted ingredients amounts. It has a delicate flavor when made as written. Next time I'll follow some of the other reviewers advice and add more of the basil/tomato mixture and maybe add some feta cheese and/or red wine vinegar and kalamata olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
A wonderful and very tasty side dish. It was missing a little something, not quite sure what yet, but it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe!!!! we make it all the time and miss it when its not there. and grind fresh parmesan...really makes it the best. thanks Kgwen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMAC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Very tasty! I read the reviews and noticed some said it was a little bland, so I cut the orzo in half but left everything else the same. Turned out great - very flavorful. Tasty when warm too! I saved myself from having to wash the food processor and just chopped everything up by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States