Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Made this with home grown sundried tomatoes and added some pine nuts. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Fast, easy, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valentinesdaybaby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
We make this all the time as a main dish. For two of us we use 1 cup orzo, 1/3 cup pesto (which we usually have on hand and we have made it both ways and don't taste a big difference), 1/3 cup julienned sun dried tomatoes, and 3/4 cup Parmesan. We just cook the pasta and dump the rest of the ingredients in & stir! Much easier than using a food processor! You can add salt & pepper to taste. We add shrimp to make it a main dish. Very quick, easy, & TASTY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
WOW!! Great recipe! Just made for a BBQ later in the day, since I read that it is good cold, too. I boiled the orzo in veg broth and doubled the basil-tomato mixture. I also added some toasted pine nuts for some crunch. Even my 1 YO loved it!!! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I made this recipe this morning and OMG, it's fantastic! I made it as stated except for adding a bit extra basil and sun-dried tomato for personal preference. I can't wait to bring it to my next potluck. Fresh and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Now one of my favorite side dishes! The only changes I made were to double the basil and sundried tomatoes. I also added some bullion to the water I cooked the orzo in to give it a little more flavor. Used some of the oil from the sundried tomato jar instead of olive oil. This is a very simple recipe but really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
It's four star as it is by our tastes but it's five plus with a little tinkering. Thought the salad was a bit dry as made by the recipe, although we didn't let it sit overnight which may have changed my opinion. Added probably 1/3% more each fresh basil and oil from the sun-dried tomatoes. Added some balsamic and lemon juice to taste, some Walla Walla onion for crunch and some fresh cherry tomatoes out of the garden just because we had them. The orzo sucked up all that extra juice and it was dynamite. The wife couldn't wait for it to sit and marinate. Added some Genoa salami and Kalamata olives to my portion the next day and it was even better. Thanks to kgwen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I had never eaten orzo before, so chose this recipe to try it. We had this hot as a side dish, then cold the next day with sandwiches. It is very good both ways!! Would definately make again!! Thanks kgwen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Berggren Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Followed the recipe and was quite impressed with the end result. Delicious. Will definitely recommend to my daughters & friends .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I loved this. I have recipe very similar to this that I really like better as I added some feta cheese, some canned artichokes and sliced olives then stuffed large scooped out tomatoes using the scooped portion with the orzo. If you want to get a little fancier try this sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rogue River, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States