Summery Ratatouille Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Sometimes I don't understand the ratings on this site at all. This recipe is a case in point. Agree with the reviewer who said he didn't like the taste or texture of the ground pork. Simple vegetarian Ratatouille is much better. Call this something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
CREATOR'S COMMENTS: When I make this dish I do not crumble the ground pork; I make semi-rough meatballs about 1/2 thumb size. That way not every bite has pork in it. Also, I have found that using Ritz brand crackers makes a better "crust" with the cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiss1frog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was delicious! I used Italian Turkey Sausage in place of the ground pork. I also used Garlic and Herb Wheat Thins (Reduced Fat) for the cracker topping. The combo was perfect! This was a complete meal by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosejohanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I substituted japanese eggplant for the bell peppers and used an ice cube of basil instead of the dried seasonings. Also used Panko breadcrumbs instead of the crackers. I got 6 servings out of it, and served it with some basmatti rice. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This was absolutely delicious! I made it for company the other night and even my father -- who hates vegetables and tomato dishes -- raved about it. I used reduced fat crackers and omitted the bell pepper due to taste preferences, but it was still great. Spicier than I thought it would be, so I may use a bit less pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was great. In order to make this a complete meal, I added some ziti. I added eggplant because I had one that was about to go bad. I had enough drippings from my italian sausage so I didnt have to use the olive oil. After the vegetables and sausage cooked I heated my cooked ziti and pasta sauce up. I then did the layering. This recipe does take some time because of all the chopping, cooking, stiring, layering, cleaning. But I thought it was worth it. It took me nearly an hour for prep...not 30 minutes like the recipe stated. And by no means am I a slow cooker! Great dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This was excellent. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bremen, Bremen, Germany
Living In: Lanham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
WOW! Yum! This was delicious! I'm so full but I still want more! I added a little ground sage to the pork and used Ritz vegetable crackers, but other than that I stuck to the recipe. I never rate immediately after I eat, but this was so good I had to say so. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Amazing recipe. I used a mix of chorizo and italian sausage in place of the ground pork. I also omitted the layer of mozzarella cheese. I mixed cracked pepper flavored crackers with a cup of shredded mixed italian cheeses. It really seemed to be plenty of cheese without the layer of mozz in the middle. I decided to add eggplant as well. I will make this again and again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This is really, really good. I have made it two times now and although it seems i dirty every mixing bowl in my (limited) kitchen space in the staging and prep phase, it is worth it. For the topping, I used some stone ground crackers which I crushed (at least I could do that in a freezer bag and not have to find another mixing dish) with some packaged shaved fresh parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Garden Ratatouille

See how to make cheesy baked chicken ratatouille with fresh garden herbs.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States