Summery Lime-Mango Shortcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This was pretty good. Didn't add gelatin to the cream and reduced salt but reduced it too much. My mangoes weren't very ripe or sweet so I think that will help. It made a ton of shortcakes but I think I made them too flat, will make them bigger next time. Liked the lime zest in the cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
not exactly what I was looking for. My shortcake turned out a bit heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NicoleRenee
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe! Though the gelatin through me and I didn't use it, they cream was delicious! Messy and definitely for older kids and adults. my son loved the strawberries and cream and i enjoyed the added flavours throughout the dish, lime, coconut, strawberry's an mango's made it really feel like spring time. Can't wait to make these for guests! Thanks for this one :) As a side note, I would also decrease the amount of salt in the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
A fun summer treat. The biscuit turned out great with nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malloryrh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This looks awesome! I am convinced you must be a very good cook, because your pictures of your baking and cooking, look very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma's Cookhouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I only gave it 4 stars because there is enough in the shortcake batter for 12 but the actual recipe will only serve 6. I served 6 and could have used still more fruit and whipping cream. I went to the store for strawberries and of course they were out so substituted kiwi. I didn't have the poppy seeds but I think that would add. Not sure of the purpose of the gelatin. Wouldn't bother with it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Wow! What a fabulous dessert! I had my eye on this for a while and finallly got around to trying it and am so glad I did. The combination of fruit is awesome and not overly sweet. The shortcakes are light and fluffy - I cut the salt down to 1 tsp., added 1/2 cup of flaked coconut, 1/2 tsp. of lime juice and used butter instead of shortening. You definitely need a well floured surface to cut these out on as the dough is very soft. After I cut out the shortcakes I topped them with a bit of turbinado sugar and placed them on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. I let them set for about 30 minutes in order to the the baking powder "react". They baked up beautifully! For the whipped cream I used 1 cup of heavy whipping cream with 2 Tbsp. of white sugar and 1/2 tsp. of coconut extract. Be sure your bowl and beater are well chilled and it'll whip up nicely. I can't remember when I've had a more unique or refreshing dessert. Thanks larkspur for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
These are delicious! Easy to make and beautiful dessert. Didn't use the gelatin since we were eating it right away. The dough was very sticky when kneading so I just kept adding flour and it didn't affect the final product I agree with CC at first glance seems like a labor intensive dessert when in fact can be put together in no time. Definately worth of serving to company. Thanks larkspur for sumitting your delicious recipe! Elvira Silva.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
These were very good! I had a mango that I needed to use and I've had my eye on these, so I went ahead and made them :) I did have to make one significant modification and that was that I did not have a lime (or a lemon even) so I had to do without. These were still great, but I could see how the lime would make them even better. Like others, I did not use the gelatin in the whipped cream and it turned out great. I really loved the coconut flavor in this. As for the shortcakes, I used butter instead of shortening and I did not have poppy seeds, but those were the only changes I made. They turned out fantastic. Loved this! I will definitely be making these again with the lime!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Very delicious! We loved the flavors in the shortcakes. I did use butter instead of shortening in the shortcakes, I don't usually have shortening, and it worked perfect. I also cut the butter into the flour mixture with the food processor, it is so much quicker and easier. Also just whipped up the cream before serving. My husband who insists that he hates mangoes loved this! And he didn't even eat around the mango. I topped with a little bit of toasted coconut. Thanks for the recipe Larkspur I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Mascarpone Brulee with Fresh Berries

See how to make a simple but impressive summer fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States