Summertime Tomato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Super easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Morris-Vogel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I can't believe I saw this recipe. I have a Cost Plus shaker salad dressing jar that has recipes on the side. This was the exact recipe. except for added basil. I made it last week for the first time for a dinner party and it was a hit. Especially good served over (or mixed in) cottage cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Summery, tangy and simple. It was a nice accompaniment to our grilled steaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
At first I thought, whoa, this is way too much onion and way too much seasoned salt. But after letting it marinate overnight, the flavors blended together nicely. However, it makes alot more than 2 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonfrost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
WOW !! I have been looking high and low for such a recipe since I am a huge fan of tomatoes and white or sweet onions. I have eaten this sort of salad in restaurants but could never get the recipe. In any case, there was never any guarantee of a restaurant's marinade so it is / was nice to make my own. The taste, after 8 hours, covered in the fridge was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This was FABULOUS! I used red onion(about 1/2 of a lg onion), white wine vinegar, & grape tomatoes cut in 1/2. I can't rave enough about this! It was a HUGE hit this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ColleenK
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Wow! This is YUMMY! I followed the recipe as it is written and also added some feta, just because I had some to use up. Hubby and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Absolutely loved this tomato salad! What a great , simple summer side. I used 1/4 cup oil, and did double the mustard. This makes plenty of dressing, easily enough for six tomatoes. I used orange, yellow, and red tomatoes, so pretty. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Jay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I had a big, beautiful Tennessee farm market tomato I used to make roughly half this recipe. I didn’t think all the dressing was necessary so I made 1/4 of it, which was plenty. I sliced my tomatoes and used green onions. I try never to refrigerate tomatoes, as their flavor diminishes, so I made this early in the day and let it sit on the counter until dinner. This was good, but nothing exceptional. I was expecting more based on the rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I would cut at least half the oil in this recipe, turns out to be way to much and I even added an extra cucumber to the mix. I would compare this to adding an entire bottle of oily dressing to a small salad..sorry did not work for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato Dirt Salad

See how to make a fresh tomato, mushroom, and mozzarella salad.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States