Summertime Sweet Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2004
I never made pickles before and was skeptical about this too easy to be true recipe, HOWEVER...this recipe is unbelievably good. Fabulous, like bread and butter pickles...only better! I made another batch the very next day! 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
I used a cider vinegar and found the taste to be way to strong for me. I've gota similar recipe that uses white vinegar instead. That one calls for 3 days in the refrigerator but I'm not sure it really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
Excellent recipe! My whole family loves these pickles. Very quick and easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
What is nice is that the pickles stay crunchy, as well as taste great! I omitted the onions. Did not have mustard seed, so used half as much mustard powder. Added 1/2 tsp celery seed and 1/2 tsp dill seed. Used English cukes (one = 1 lb). Added 1/2 cup water cuz seemed like not enough liquid to cover, although the pickles did shrink down. Keep in the frig and eat right away! They won't last long! Highly recommend, and no trouble to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Salty, but yummy and simple. Next time I make these I will cut back on the salt. I also like my pickles a little zesty, so I added a little crushed red pepper. Next time I'll add a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This is by far the best sweet pickle recipe. It is so easy and tastes great. Hats off to subscriber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Nice sweet tangy flavor which doesn't cover the flavor of the cukes. I use Baggs Apple Cider Vinegar which tends to be sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philocrates
Living In: Yellowknife, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I made these pickles for the first time last summer. My family and friends can't wait for my first batch this year! The recipe is simple and the pickles are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I had to double the boiled mix in order to get enough to completely submerge the cucumbers and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
Liz, you are right this is a GREAT all year round recipe. I espec. like to use pickling cukes when available. Also I always add 1/2 Teasp. of Celery Seed plus 3 drops of Oil of Cloves (depending on how much I make). These are sooooo yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States