Summertime Sweet Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This is a great pickle recipe! I've made three batches so far since my family just loves these. The first time, I followed the recipe to the T. Subsequent batches I omitted the onions and added hot chili peppers to give the pickles some spice. They get better the longer they sit in the brine and I love that they keep their crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalaheo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This was my first time making pickles, and they were fantastic! Crunchy, sweet, good bread & butter flavor. I think next time I'll leave out the onions (it was just a little too tangy for me). Thanks, Liz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I found the recipe to be way too salty, now I'm trying to find a way to fix that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
They were good needed a little something not quite sure what though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bloomdale, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
These turned out wonderfully! I did ad celery seed just because it is a personal liking. If you have hard water and your jars come out of the bath water all white and scaley, add 1/4 cup of white vinegar to the water and they will come out crystal clear! Too bad I only thought of doing that after I had made 30 jars of other things... Well, at least I will know to do that from now on. Worked in the dishwasher so I figured why not my pickle jars. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Great recipe! I followed the recipe almost exactly as written except that I made the recipe x4 and ended up being short on salt, probably about half the amount the recipe called for. These turned out better than the bread and butter pickled I buy from the store! I also processed my jars so that I could store them for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
too salty. I made again and soaked my cucumbers & onions in the salt for 3 hrs. then drained & rinsed. Did Not put any salt with the vinegar & sugar. They are much better pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
These are just what I was looking for. They're Delicious... much better then store bought bread and butter pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
We loved these! I'm sure it would have been great as written, but I can't get mustard seed where I'm at (at least not without some work), so I left it out. I also added some dried dill. These are actually good to go in about 5 hours if you're in a bit of a hurry. Thanks for the recipe! I'll be making these regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This is a great recipe! Followed the directions exactly and came out wonderful. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States