Summerly Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This was made for a side dish to our Easter Ham and complimented it well. It wasn't the most beautiful dish, but tasted good. I did substitute canned diced tomatoes in place of fresh and added garlic. I did cook it slightly longer to soften the veggies more as my family isn't big on firm veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I am sure that this is fabulous as is but, I had no tomatoes! I did, however, have zucchini and squash that I needed to use NOW. I searched for recipes and found this one ..... I sauteed the onion, added chopped garlic, then added the sliced zucchini and summer squash. Kosher salt/pepper. Yum! No disrespect to the originator, but I just had to share and hope most can appreciate these "crisis" moments in the kitchen. I gave five stars based on the proportions and combination of ingredients alone, plus the other stellar reviews. I promise to make "as written" and will give another review then. Squeakychu: my deepest compliments to you and know that you inspired me in a critical moment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I'm not a fan of squash but I liked this!. I needed a recipe to use up a bunch of yellow squash and eggplant that was going bad. I peeled the squash and eggplant. I didn't have zucchini so I subbed in cubed eggplant, used 2 med onions+ 4 cloves garlic and a yellow pepper. Pleasantly surprised. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla Gibbens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This was very good! The tomatoes and the spices added a lot to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Very tasty. Used my own tomato's & squash. If it has to much liquid then just drain some away before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I halved this recipe for my husband and I, followed the recipe with no changes -- delicious! I ate the leftovers cold for lunch the next day, still nummy! This is a great side veggie dish that I'm going to make again this week, a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Great way to use up squash and zucchini. I added mushrooms and peppers. I am going to put leftovers over some whole wheat pasta for my lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I usually don't like cooked squash because of how mushy it can get, but a thicker slice seemed to help maintain some crunch. The flavors were to die for, and I used a shallot instead of a regular onion to give it a stronger onion flavor. I also cooked it in coconut oil and used a no salt seasoning plus the pepper and salt. It was the best cooked squash recipe I have tasted ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Used diced tomatoes (flavored with oregano and basil) instead of fresh. Had to cook much longer than the stated time of 20 minutes. I thought it was just okay. The next day, I smothered the leftovers with shredded parmesan and tons of mozzarella and put it in the microwave to melt the cheese. It was WONDERFUL. I definitely recommend adding cheese! Provolone would be delicious, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Very Good. Don't add. Salt until finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lecanto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States