Summerly Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
We loved this. I made a few minor changes: 1) substituted olive oil for the veg oil, 2) substituted a can of diced tomatoes, drained, and 3) added 1 clove of minced garlic with the onions. My husband and I ate it all during dinner tonight. A keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
easy, light, and flavorful summer side dish. Used EVOO and added some garlic minced. Sauteed the onion w/some sweet red peppers. Seeded the roma tomatoes to take away some of the bitterness and reduce water content. summer squash have a higher water content. Added just a touch of brown sugar to cut down on the tartness. Salt and pepper. Used fresh basil and fresh chopped parsley. pretty color combinations also. Served w/jasmin rice and nice complimentary side dish to baked tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I have to admit I am not a big zuccini or yellow squash fan but I wanted to use a few up so I tried this recipe. Well I have made it twice in two days! It is soooo good. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes so I used 2 cans of Rotel canned tomatoes with chili peppers - WOW. I also eliminated some of the oil because I am on weight watchers. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
This was a great way to use the fresh veggies when you tire of the same-ole-same-ole. I used more garlic and didn't cook it as long -- so that the veggies didn't get mushy. The best part was I actually got TWO meals from this recipe: the next night I put the leftovers in a skillet and added more fresh tomatoes, basil, garlic, pepper, and a bit of water and served it over hot angel hair pasta. Yummy! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I didn't think I liked squash until I made this for my boyfriend! It was really good, and the only change I made was adding garlic (because I add it to practically everything).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARGAZER8383

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
OMG this was awesome! I never liked squash before but this was soooo delicious. My neighbor gave me some summer squash today and I looked to this sight for a recipe to fix some for dinner. I made it as written except I didn't have any zucchini so I used all summer squash and I added some fresh garlic. I will be making this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I thought this was wonderfull. I added fresh basil and canned tomatoes. I also added shredded cheese at the end! Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Summerly Squash Haiku: "Could've been awesome. But never tender enough. Just change the method." I halved the recipe, but followed exactly as written (fresh basil > dried), and the cover-reduce to low-simmer for 20 min. (especially w/ 1/2" thick slices) just didn't get them tender enough. Don't get me wrong - I love an al dente hunk of squash, but these, while light and flavorful, were still too tough for us. I'd rather stick to traditional sauteeing (in EVOO, not veg oil) at med. heat, and not cover and simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Love this squash recipe! I did make adjustments based on what I had and preferences. I used a can of seasoned tomatoes, drained, plus minced garlic, and oregano. I didn't use as much onions as the recipe called for, and I used frozen ones as I am not a fan of onion. This turned out great, I have made it a couple of times this summer and even those that don't like squash went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Really great recipe! I'll make this again and again! I sauteed minced garlic with the onion, used fresh minced basil and left out the bay leaf. I'm very glad to find this simple, delicious and low fat dish. Oh yeah and I only had zucchini so it was just zucchini, onion and fresh tomatoes, but I'm sure squash would be the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States