Summerly Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. I almost rated it 4 stars because my husband didn't like it. However, he only likes fried squash. I guess it's the texture he didn't like. But I give it a definite 5 star. I used one can of Rotel and one can of tomatoes with bell peppers and onions. Everything else was the same. We ate it over spaghetti with a small amount of shredded cheese on top...Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
My hubby that is not all that fond of summer squash found it to be a keeper. He likes his food a tad blander than I do....he likes it as is. I would like it better (and I am doing the rating!) a bit more with a bit of garlic an parm cheese as another poster suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
When I sold my house and bought a condo, I didn't miss mowing, but was sad not having a garden. Well, now I have the most beautiful vegetable garden grown in big pots on the balcony. As an empty nester, I had way too much so this recipe was a great find. Got to use my fresh zucchini, summer squash and tomatoes. I used fresh herbs from the balcony, and as everyone here has...garlic sauted with the onions. To use up an overflowing pot of spinach I also added that right at the end of the simmering. My daughter came for dinner and I seved this over penne pasta for a main dish. A terrific recipe for a vegetarian. This was spectacular, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This has been very well received amongst my family members. My father in particular loves this over angel hair pasta, and coming from an Italian man whose mother is a marvelous cook, that's quite a compliment! I make this using fresh herbs - a little parsley thrown in with the rest gives it a nice taste. Thanks for giving me another way to use my insane kitchen garden harvest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonina_mdc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Try Parmesan cheese & I used fresh herbs. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I followed the recipe with two changes. I added garlic to the onions and in the end I topped it off with reduced fat feta cheese. Then I served it with whole wheat linguine. It was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Really great recipe! I'll make this again and again! I sauteed minced garlic with the onion, used fresh minced basil and left out the bay leaf. I'm very glad to find this simple, delicious and low fat dish. Oh yeah and I only had zucchini so it was just zucchini, onion and fresh tomatoes, but I'm sure squash would be the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Makes a great change from my standby of plain sauteed squash. All of my family said it was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I was looking for a new way to cook squash, and this totally hit the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Perfect as is. The only substituion I made was to add some fresh garlic when cooking the onion and I used E.V.O.O. instead of vegetable oil. Served over homemade gnocchi. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States