Summerly Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was great. Except for the yield. I'm one of those starving college students so I don't exactly have the luxury of a large skillet. I used a sautee pan, so the measurements were a little bit off but it still came out yummy. I ended up with too many tomatoes and chunky squash. Recommend slicing the squash and zucchini into strips instead of rounds as I did. And if you're going to overdo anything, go with onion; it adds to everything else and it's the base so you'll stop yourself from going overboard anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annem

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
We found this recipe several years ago, and now it is our favorite way to use the squash and zucchini from our garden. Sometimes we use Italian seasoning instead of the basil and bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This was a great way to use some of my summer bounty. I cut the veggies into matchsticks instead of rounds because it looks prettier and cooks faster. I will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
So good! My 5yr old and husband even liked it. I used 1 can of diced tomatoes. I didn't have any zucchini so I used 4 small squash. I am passing this recipe on to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This was really good. All I did different was use olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and I added some minced garlic. Very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Great! I had a lot of squash, so I subbed one can tomato sauce plus one can diced tomatoes for the chopped, fresh tomatoes. I used fresh basil rather than dried, added a few cloves of minced garlic with the onions, and grated the squash rather than slicing it. I served it over spaghetti with some grated parmesan on top - really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
A very tasty dish! I didn't have zucchini, basil or the bay leaf, so just used salt & pepper and 1/2 tsp. red chili pepper along with fresh garlic (3 cloves, crushed & sauteed with the onions). I also added a sliced green pepper in for colour with the squash and it turned out great. We had it as a main dish served over rice and was very delicious. A great new way to use squash. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Delicious, just what I was craving. Lovely side dish for fish or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I am always looking for a new way to cook. This was very easy to do and very filling. I added salt and pepper and next time I will add in garlic to give it a more flavorful taste. I would have givenit 4 & 1/2 stars but I don't have that option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This receipe was great. My husband isn't a huge fan of squash but even he ate this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States