Summerly Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Enjoyed this very much! It was a good contrast to some baked chicken in cream sauce. (I would maybe cut back a tad on the salt next time...but my husband loved the salt, so that might just be me!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I served this over spaghetti. Because I used canned tomatoes I didn't need to add sauce. It was perfect and light. I may add mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Love this squash recipe! I did make adjustments based on what I had and preferences. I used a can of seasoned tomatoes, drained, plus minced garlic, and oregano. I didn't use as much onions as the recipe called for, and I used frozen ones as I am not a fan of onion. This turned out great, I have made it a couple of times this summer and even those that don't like squash went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I tried this because I had quite a bit of squash and zucchini left in my garden. I substituted the fresh tomatoe for canned ones and this turned out great. I didn't have a bay leaf but this turned out fantastic anyway. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil too. My children added some shredded mozzarella and grated parmesan cheese to theirs. I will definately make this a family favorite recipe and make it often during the upcomming summers as well. Thank you for such a practical recipe. Serve this with pasta and it'll stretch for unexpected guests or children who love pasta too (of all ages). YUMMERS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5lilblessings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
OMG this was awesome! I never liked squash before but this was soooo delicious. My neighbor gave me some summer squash today and I looked to this sight for a recipe to fix some for dinner. I made it as written except I didn't have any zucchini so I used all summer squash and I added some fresh garlic. I will be making this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Wonderful side dish. Made exactly as stated, except I probably doubled the oil... I felt like it needed a little more as it started cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was very tasty. I added 1 garlic clove to the onion and I used fresh basil and I added a little more tomato. I would cut zucchini and squash into almost matchstick size next time, to cook it faster. I served over pasta. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was great. Except for the yield. I'm one of those starving college students so I don't exactly have the luxury of a large skillet. I used a sautee pan, so the measurements were a little bit off but it still came out yummy. I ended up with too many tomatoes and chunky squash. Recommend slicing the squash and zucchini into strips instead of rounds as I did. And if you're going to overdo anything, go with onion; it adds to everything else and it's the base so you'll stop yourself from going overboard anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annem

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
We found this recipe several years ago, and now it is our favorite way to use the squash and zucchini from our garden. Sometimes we use Italian seasoning instead of the basil and bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This was a great way to use some of my summer bounty. I cut the veggies into matchsticks instead of rounds because it looks prettier and cooks faster. I will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States