Summerly Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was really good. Didn't have zucchini so I substituted with fresh mushrooms. Olive oil, garlic, a little fresh grated parmesan over the top. Yummy. Even in winter. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I didn't like this very much. It was ok, but certainly not what I was hoping for. It turned out so bland! I added more salt and pepper and topped it off with Parmesan cheese, but it still lacked something. I probably won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This was GREAT!!!!!!! I didn't have tomatoes, which I know is a main ingredient, but I added half a green bell pepper (I added it in at the same time the tomato would be added) and the taste was amazing. I also added two pieces of garlic which I simmered with the onion. I also didn't have a bay leaf, so I used some Italian seasoning and a pinch of red chili powder for an extra kick. I really enjoyed it and so did my mother who kept complimenting it. I cut the original recipe in half to serve 3 because it was just the two of us, and we finished the whole pan. I just made this again for my lunch, and I couldn't help to think It would make an AMAZING vegetable panini with some grilled sliced bread topped with some sort of white cheese. YUM!!!!!!! I would have done it if I had some white cheese, maybe pepperjack for me since I like spice : D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Enjoyed this very much! It was a good contrast to some baked chicken in cream sauce. (I would maybe cut back a tad on the salt next time...but my husband loved the salt, so that might just be me!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I served this over spaghetti. Because I used canned tomatoes I didn't need to add sauce. It was perfect and light. I may add mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Love this squash recipe! I did make adjustments based on what I had and preferences. I used a can of seasoned tomatoes, drained, plus minced garlic, and oregano. I didn't use as much onions as the recipe called for, and I used frozen ones as I am not a fan of onion. This turned out great, I have made it a couple of times this summer and even those that don't like squash went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I tried this because I had quite a bit of squash and zucchini left in my garden. I substituted the fresh tomatoe for canned ones and this turned out great. I didn't have a bay leaf but this turned out fantastic anyway. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil too. My children added some shredded mozzarella and grated parmesan cheese to theirs. I will definately make this a family favorite recipe and make it often during the upcomming summers as well. Thank you for such a practical recipe. Serve this with pasta and it'll stretch for unexpected guests or children who love pasta too (of all ages). YUMMERS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5lilblessings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Harrison, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
OMG this was awesome! I never liked squash before but this was soooo delicious. My neighbor gave me some summer squash today and I looked to this sight for a recipe to fix some for dinner. I made it as written except I didn't have any zucchini so I used all summer squash and I added some fresh garlic. I will be making this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Wonderful side dish. Made exactly as stated, except I probably doubled the oil... I felt like it needed a little more as it started cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISRIZZIO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was very tasty. I added 1 garlic clove to the onion and I used fresh basil and I added a little more tomato. I would cut zucchini and squash into almost matchstick size next time, to cook it faster. I served over pasta. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States