Summerly Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Really good and easy. I didn't change a thing. Great dish, will do again, even my daughter liked it and she is not a big squash fan at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
very good. added the garlic that other reviewers suggesting and substituted EVOO for veggie oil. have both zucchini and squash in my garden so I'm thinking this will be come a weekly staple through growing season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Summerly Squash Haiku: "Could've been awesome. But never tender enough. Just change the method." I halved the recipe, but followed exactly as written (fresh basil > dried), and the cover-reduce to low-simmer for 20 min. (especially w/ 1/2" thick slices) just didn't get them tender enough. Don't get me wrong - I love an al dente hunk of squash, but these, while light and flavorful, were still too tough for us. I'd rather stick to traditional sauteeing (in EVOO, not veg oil) at med. heat, and not cover and simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Nice! Added fresh basil, parmesan and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
My wife and I loved this dish! If possible use veggies fresh from a garden or at least a farmer's market. I also substituted the vegetable oil with olive oil and added minced fresh garlic. We had it with fish tacos. Dinner was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
4.5 is a more accurate rating. I LOVED this dish, and my husband did too!! That was shocking. I used the matchstick shape veggies like other users suggested for faster cooking time and added an extra tomato. I also added 2 cloves of fresh garlic and I think that was a good addition. I sprinkled a little grated parm over the top and it was so good!! Excellent way to use up those summer veggies! Definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Delicious!! I didn't have a squash but followed the rest of the recipe as directed. I ended up eating this solo as a side dish but the kids really enjoyed it over penne noodles. Added this to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I would like to give this recipe 4 1/2 starts rather than 4. Very good. This is easy to prepare and healthy. Canned diced tomatoes can be substituted for fresh if you don't have fresh. Also VERY tasty over pasta with grated parmesan or romano cheese. Monitor the squash closely, it can overcook and become mushy very easily. Thanks for the recipe, I will be making this part of my repertoire. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winter Garden, Florida, USA
Living In: Montverde, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Tasty low-fat side dish! The leftovers reheat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Love it... I read the reviews and added some garlic... yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States