Summer Zucchini Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
Great way to use up your zucchini! I doubled the recipe, threw in a couple extra sausages, cup back a little on the water and used crushed peppers in mine for a little kick. The potatoes took a little longer to cook then stated, but smelled, looked and tasted great. I had to thank my husband for finding this one!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I thought this was great! I use 3 hot italian sausages, 2 medium zucchini and add a couple of shakes of crushed red pepper. Don't forget the crusty french bread for dipping and a little parmesan to top off the hot stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I actually forgot to add the water and we still loved it! The potatoes were slightly undercooked (probably due to no water) so I'll add just a little next time... but only a few oz. because we liked it chunky and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Great recipe I added a little cayanne and some crushed red pepper ,just to give it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atomicdogs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I absolutely love this recipe and make it several time during the summer. Using hot italian sausage definitely adds some kick, and instead of using water, add a can of chicken broth or tomato sauce for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Lots of great veggies - broth was a little bit bland, and needed quite a bit of salt, but otherwise it was a great soup to use with fresh veggies (I also used fresh green beans rather than canned).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
We really enjoyed this recipe. Great use of the garden veggies. May freeze some and save it for winter. Used Hot Italian Sausage for a little kick. Also made in crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Pretty good, but I would have liked a stew that tasted more like zucchini. I think there were too many other ingredients that overpowered it. That said, the stew tastes better with a little bit of cheese sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATIECHILE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Good recipe and very quick and easy to prepare. The soup had much more flavor than I imagined it would without the help of chicken broth. I did not add any extra salt, since the canned tomatoes already had a lot of sodium in it. For protein, I used two vegetarian breakfast sausage links and two slices of sun-dried tomato ham. I also added some chili flakes and thyme. Even though I didn't include potato, green pepper, parsley, basil, and green beans, as the recipe suggests, the soup was very robust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States