Summer Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I've been making this and eating this casserole made by other family members for years! It's one of my favorites. I omit the carrots, though, and use plain bread crumbs as opposed to the chicken flavored kind, which can be overpowering. I also sautee the zucchini and leave the onion raw to cook in the casserole - turns out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This is a different yet yummy recipe. I didn't use as much zucchini as it called for and added diced carrots that I first sauteed in butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Next time I would saute my veggies rather than boil...as they were a little too "water logged" even after draining well...However, I will make it again! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Although grandma never made this dish, it tastes like something she would. My girlfried is a vegetarian so I sub cream of mushroom. I've used half zuch and half yellow squash with great results.I also saute instead of boil and add garlic and crushed red pepper to the pan. I've made it about four times this season so I'd say it's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenwellcm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
We LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I saute the onions, zuchini and add squash. I also make a little extra stuffing to make sure there is plenty on top to get crusty. Very good, tastes like Thanksgiving in a dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
It was alright. I left out the sour cream and added some cubed chicken. For me, the stuffing overpowered everything else. If I were to make it again, I would use this dish as a side, and not as a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Nice flavors,easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Sardinia, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This recipe is delicious. My husband is not a veggie fan and he had two servings. I used canned chicken and canned carrots and it was fine. We really enjoyed it and will make it lots during zuchinni season !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
My family loved this, even my 4 year old. I didn't have a full 2 lbs. of squash, so I added red pepper and some frozen corn. I also added a can of chicken breast and some jack cheese. Rather than boil the veggies, I sauteed them in some olive oil and butter and added some salt, pepper, cumin and garlic. Also, I only used half a stick of butter and added some chicken broth to the stuffing mix. It was a really nice comfort food dinner with roasted beets and a salad on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States