Summer Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Added shredded chicken and had no onions. Used Stove Top stuffing mix, and made it according to package directions. Will make again and add more veggies and NOT skip the onions. Very yummy and don't forget to grab a can of cranberry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Fabulous! I used less carrots because that is all I had on hand. I sauteed the veggies first instead of boiling. I used more stuffing mix (more like 9 ounces) because I had to use it up (due to the additional stuffing I just added a tiny bit extra butter to it). I served this with a roasted chicken and roasted potatoes and onions. My husband hates zuchinni and he was chowing on this! I couldn't believe it. I only wish I tried this recipe earlier in the squash season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Very tasty!! I added 2 chicken breasts in bite size pieces, and cooked them in olive oil until cooked. Then I cooked the zucchini just until it was barely tender. (I don't like mushy zucchini). I used 1/4 cup of butter (1/2 stick). This kept it not too soggy....I also used light sour cream, and cream of celery soup because I didn't have the cream of chicken. This is a salty dish--my husband loved it...but next time I think I will use a low sodium soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Mercy, this was soooo good!!! Someone had given me tons of zucchini, so I went a-searching for recipes! This one is a keeper! I did make a few changes as I didn't have carrots, so I added diced yellow pepper, mushrooms and green onions in place of the carrots. I sauteed my zucchini and onion in olive oil instead of boiling them. I only used about 3/4 can of cream of chicken and 3/4 cup sour cream. I also added some cheddar cheese to the mix. I did double the stuffing as suggested and was glad I did. My husband and I usually have some form of meat in our suppers, so this was a change. But he loved it and so did I! Bring on the zucchini!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Indiana, USA
Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and it did not turn out great. My family asked that I not make it again... Why are we boiling zucchini ~ frying may have been much better, although more caloric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I've made this casserole so many times and it's always so good! I modify by using fat free chicken broth instead of butter to moisten the stuffing mix. I also add in about a cup of shredded cheese and for the topping, I mix in some crushed Ritz crackers with the stuffing. Usually my veggies are a mix of zucchini and yellow squash. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNAmber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
very good! made this for a pot luck and it was gone fast! I sprinkled shredded cheddar cheese over the first layer of stuffing and under the top layer of stuffing. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sundance, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
First, I don't know where one would find a 6 ounce package of stuffing. A standard package is 14 ounces. I had already prepared the recipe when i read the 6 ounce figure, so I scrambled to compensate for the difference. I added some chicken broth for moisture and it worked fine. It was delicious, and I'll definitely make it again. This time I'll know that "1 package" really means less than 1/2 package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quinniepants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Absolutely love this! I use one bag of sage and onion bread cubes like Mom uses for thanksgiving with 2 sticks of butter. Put half of the bag in a bowl with one stick of melted butter. Put on bottom of 9x13 glass pan. Make the zuchhini mixture. Put the rest of the cubes in the bowl with another stick of butter. Put on top. Bake at 350 for an hour. or less if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Oka-a-ay...not very much flavor. Don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ethan's maa'ma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States