Summer Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Pretty good! I left out the mushrooms and bell peppers because I didn't have any. I used soaked black beans instead of canned (I like the texture better), fresh corn and some canned tomatoes to round out my lone fresh one. A great way to use some of my garden veggies. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This chili was ok, a bit bland and not very saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
A friend of mine made a similar recipe years ago, which she never shared, bless her heart. Therefore, I've been on the lookout for a nice vegetarian chili ever since. This one looked promising. I was a little concerned about the number of ingredients at first blush, however, this was WAY simple! It is hard for me to use a recipe without changing it the first time around. So, I held myself back as much as possible today. I really enjoyed making this chili recipe! It makes a generous amount so I'm pleased I resisted the temptation to double the recipe. I cook for a small family with a wide range of spice tolerance. This was just right for my mild-loving mother-in-law yet flavorful enough for my spice-loving husband. I served it over brown rice as suggested and garnished with sharp cheddar cheese. Wonderful, yummy sounds and smiling faces all around! Next time, to increase the protein content, I'll add a bag of frozen veggie protein (Morningstar or Boca) to the basic recipe. NO Additional changes, which is an amazing statement coming from me. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WACHOBSEALEY
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Leicester, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Ok as is. I simmered the dish for 15 extra minutes to reduce some of the water in the pot. I added another tbls of chili powder and half a can of tomato paste as I found it pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Made this during the harsh Canadian winter of 2010 and it was great! Used 2 cups stewed tomatoes instead of fresh. For the liquid I used 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup Cabernet Sauvignon, 1/2 cup flat beer. Also added 1 fresh green chile minced. Served over rice and topped with grated cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARHYSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Love the spice combo but added some fresh jalepeno from my garden. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Excellent chili! I've made this twice, both times with wine. I altered the ingredients slightly (didn't use pepper because I don't like it), but in general followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Very good recipe -- lots of flavour variety and an easy/quick prep. We made ours in the crock pot instead of on stovetop and added in rice to the leftovers to thicken it up. We'll definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dyslexia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I loved this soup. It was a wonderful way to use veggies from the garden. I didn't have mushrooms, so I substituted eggplant. Not a big cilantro fan so I ommited it. Also used extra tomatoes. Still turned out great. Even hubby (who is known to say "where's the meat?") liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This turned out really well and was a great way to empty the fridge of vegetables that were about to go bad. I reduced the amount of cilantro because I find it easily over-powering and increased the amount of tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States