Summer Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
A winner at our house. No mozzarella but used provolone, no problem. Subbed ricotta for mayo (used about a tablespoon of mayo to keep consistency smoother) Stuck with the garlic, spread about a tablespoon of parmesan over the reviewers' suggested mayo on crust. Also, from another recipe, dipped the tomatoes in flour before putting them down on crust. I was determined not to have a soggy crust, and I succeeded! The cheese mixture was still a little thick and hard to spread evenly. But it was creamy good once cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I subbed the mayo for ricotta and used a parm/swiss cheese mixutre (inspired by the submitter's suggestion). The girls and I enjoyed this as a main dish. After the pie set it was easy to cut into bite size pieces for my one year old and the three year old liked the idea of eating pie for dinner. I'm excited to try this again with some garden fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This was SO delicious and flavorful! I just made a few small changes: Italian 5 cheese blend instead of just parmesan, I added 1/3 c. of chopped scallions, and reduced the garlic by one clove. Next time I will try spreading 2 T. of dijon mustard on the crust at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was wonderful! I made my own crust using the Pie Crust IV, I also used low fat mayo cause thats all I had. This reminded me of eating margarita pizza. My husband and I loved it, we will be making this again. This recipe is a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Photo by primags
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Have cooked this twice. Both times came out excellent. Spreading the mayo at the end can be a little hard but I found a butter knife works better than a spoon. I used frozen crusts and pre-baked crust, added all ingredients, and then put in the fridge for cooking near the time of the pot luck I was going to. When it came time to cook several hours later I had no problems with sogginess, it came out great! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This is a great receipt the only changes I made were I blanched the tomatoes and removed the skins and I put crushed chicken and biscuits crackers on top mixed with some butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAZUALKAZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I add 1/4 c. ricotta cheese and 1/4 c. onions to the cheese mixture. I also use less garlic. Amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This was an excellent recipe! I also spread the prepared crust with mayo as well as topping the tomatoes with mayo. What really made this dish special (aside from my fresh heirloom tomatoes and fresh basil) was making my own fresh mayo! It is very simple to do and really mad a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliennrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This turned out great and tasted just like bruschetta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Absolutely delicious and easy. I only made one change. I coated the prepared, cooled,crust with mayo. I have had other Tomato pies get a soggy crust. This might have helped, but, the pie didn't last long enought to find out. A real keeper for fresh tomatoes and basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States