Summer Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is great as is. If you wanted to make it into a heartier main dish, add crumbled bacon and top with buttered bread crumbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Great dish. Easy to improvise new variations. Made 2 pies for an appetizer and everyone loved them. Added a dash of pepper and oregano. Didn't have the ambition for a scratch crust, so used a frozen Marie C. crust. They could also be made as small tarts for finger food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
It was just beautiful! I should have taken a picture! I used thinly sliced Vidalia onions in each layer and asiago instead of cheddar. It was amazing! My husband said it was cocktail party worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Next time I'll go lighter on the garlic. Good pie for someone who loves tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I plan on making this recipe soon. Ive read the reviews & see several have used ricotta instead of the mayo on top. Wonder if greek yogurt would work as well? Whatcha think?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I decreased the amount of garlic and put in half an onion, as that's the way my family always made it. I also used dried basil, as I didn't have any fresh and it was just as good. Tomato pie has been around down here as long as anyone can remember; it's a staple at southern luncheons and family gatherings. It's a staple dish in old family cookbooks, and it's a dish that many young women learn to make when helping their mothers in the kitchen. The recipe changes from person to person and region to region, but underneath it's the same delicious tomato pie that all of us know and love. Paula Dean deserves credit for introducing it to a wider audience, but I'll bet you anything this was a dish she learned from her momma. So while some people may have learned this recipe from watching cooking shows, many of us learned to cook this from our mothers, aunts, and grandmothers, in a kitchen full of love and laughter and the warm aroma of southern cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Seems this is truly a pizza pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
now this is absolutely delicious!! had it for dinner with salad and even my husband liked it. definitely recommend !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
My grandmother made this same recipe as did my Aunt Nina and several ladies in our community when I was growing up, although some did substitute green onion or minced onion for the garlic because at the time garlic powder wasn't readily available and fresh garlic wasn't always something they had in their gardens. Some used dill instead of basil because that is what they grew to make their dill pickles. There is a reason to salt the tomatoes, to draw out the moisture so the pie is not soggy. If you slice them thinly there is no need to skin them. Many southern recipes are handed around from person to person with no one knowing who came up with the original. This one is good but if you want one that is truly EXCELLENT try the one on Sweet Tea and Cornbread's blog, it is even richer and creamier than this one -- and I loved my GRANNY's tomato pie, but ST&C just takes it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
My family loves it. However, a deep dish pie crust is better. And I skin the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States