Summer Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
We love this recipe once tomato season is in full swing. I use heirloom tomatoes & remove the seeds to prevent the dish from being soggy. I'll dice up my ingredients, instead of layering, bc i think the flavors mix better. Fresh basil is a must and any combination of cheeses works great. My fiancee who doesn't really like mayo still loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Oh YUMM! This was such a summer treat! My son's teenage friends even ate it and really liked it. It is as great cold for leftovers as warm just out of the oven. Will make this over and over. Lora Deanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This pie is wonderful! I have made it and given it to the neighbors, and brought it as a side dish for pot lucks. There is never any left and everyone always asks for the recipe. I have even tried it with different cheese combinations. It's great every time. We had so many tomatoes this year I made pies and froze them to have this winter. Not sure how they'll be but hoping for the best! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Making first time tonight! Think I will like it & amsharing it with neighbors! Added some thawed frozen spinach and had to use dried parsley. Let you all know later how it came out but looked great going into oven & was very easy! Barbara Quinlan, St. Peters Missouri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Made this last night as is except I put about 1/8 cup mayo instead of 1/4 cup - wonderful! Very similar to Paula Deen's recipe. After my first slice, all sort of thoughts going through my head of other things to add/try next time. Artichokes? Spinach? And feta cheese would be wonderful, too! will make again for certain. Bruschetta in a crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Blackport

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alto, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Easy and tasty. I used a sharper cheese with a smoked mozzarella but I think it would work nicely with a variety of cheeses and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is great as is. If you wanted to make it into a heartier main dish, add crumbled bacon and top with buttered bread crumbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Great dish. Easy to improvise new variations. Made 2 pies for an appetizer and everyone loved them. Added a dash of pepper and oregano. Didn't have the ambition for a scratch crust, so used a frozen Marie C. crust. They could also be made as small tarts for finger food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States