Summer Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Made this last night as is except I put about 1/8 cup mayo instead of 1/4 cup - wonderful! Very similar to Paula Deen's recipe. After my first slice, all sort of thoughts going through my head of other things to add/try next time. Artichokes? Spinach? And feta cheese would be wonderful, too! will make again for certain. Bruschetta in a crust!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Blackport

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alto, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Easy and tasty. I used a sharper cheese with a smoked mozzarella but I think it would work nicely with a variety of cheeses and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This is great as is. If you wanted to make it into a heartier main dish, add crumbled bacon and top with buttered bread crumbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Great dish. Easy to improvise new variations. Made 2 pies for an appetizer and everyone loved them. Added a dash of pepper and oregano. Didn't have the ambition for a scratch crust, so used a frozen Marie C. crust. They could also be made as small tarts for finger food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
It was just beautiful! I should have taken a picture! I used thinly sliced Vidalia onions in each layer and asiago instead of cheddar. It was amazing! My husband said it was cocktail party worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Next time I'll go lighter on the garlic. Good pie for someone who loves tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I plan on making this recipe soon. Ive read the reviews & see several have used ricotta instead of the mayo on top. Wonder if greek yogurt would work as well? Whatcha think?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I decreased the amount of garlic and put in half an onion, as that's the way my family always made it. I also used dried basil, as I didn't have any fresh and it was just as good. Tomato pie has been around down here as long as anyone can remember; it's a staple at southern luncheons and family gatherings. It's a staple dish in old family cookbooks, and it's a dish that many young women learn to make when helping their mothers in the kitchen. The recipe changes from person to person and region to region, but underneath it's the same delicious tomato pie that all of us know and love. Paula Dean deserves credit for introducing it to a wider audience, but I'll bet you anything this was a dish she learned from her momma. So while some people may have learned this recipe from watching cooking shows, many of us learned to cook this from our mothers, aunts, and grandmothers, in a kitchen full of love and laughter and the warm aroma of southern cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Seems this is truly a pizza pie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
now this is absolutely delicious!! had it for dinner with salad and even my husband liked it. definitely recommend !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States