Summer Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Absolutely out of this world! Made only one change...subbed Greek yogurt for the mayo. Sent the recipe to my daughter so she can also experience heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This was delicious! I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Matt
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Instead of a prepared crust, I made a cornmeal crust incorporated blue cheese and drizzled with a balsamic glaze. When served chilled, I find diced cucumber and red onion slivers make a nice accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Just fixed this as part of Christmas Day luncheon and it was wonderful! It is extremely important that the tomatoes (I used four medium) be ripe and very thinly sliced. Peel them if the skins seem tough. Mine were the vine-ripened type so the skins were tender enough to leave on. Also, make sure the tomatoes are VERY dry before assembling the pie or you will be left with a soggy crust. I did find it most difficult to spread the mayo over the top cheese layer. Next time, I will blend the cheese with the mayo beforehand. I did omit the garlic in favor of scallions which my family prefers and added a little fresh-ground pepper. Very tasty take on a time-honored dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava Flavah!

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
It was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Good way too use up some extra tomatoes, I really liked this, but I also put mayo on the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Zapp Winningham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I made this pie and fell in love with it, very easy to make and extremely flavorful. I think this is the first time I have made a recipe without altering it at all. I did however make it again and added green onions. I found the tomatoes I got from the farmers market and neighbors homegrown made a much better pie than ones from the grocery store. This has become a once a week meat free meal. All family loves it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cyevents

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
We love this recipe once tomato season is in full swing. I use heirloom tomatoes & remove the seeds to prevent the dish from being soggy. I'll dice up my ingredients, instead of layering, bc i think the flavors mix better. Fresh basil is a must and any combination of cheeses works great. My fiancee who doesn't really like mayo still loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Oh YUMM! This was such a summer treat! My son's teenage friends even ate it and really liked it. It is as great cold for leftovers as warm just out of the oven. Will make this over and over. Lora Deanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States