Summer Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
The only thing I changed was I left out the garlic and used some chopped green onions, instead. I also added just a bit of fresh mozzarella underneath the cheddar, mozz, and mayo mixture on top (just needed to use it.) I also skipped the step of salting the tomatoes simply because I didn't see it! I made my own pie crust from a recipe on this site and it was stupendous! The one piece that was leftover (it was just my husband and me eating it) was delicious the next day for lunch, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
My whole family really enjoyed this! I added some shredded rotisserie chicken to the pie. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISSA771
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I had blue cheese and cheddar on hand and they are great with the tomatoes. I made a second pie and added andouille sausage. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
a little soggy------------not to my liking- my family thought it was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
My family absolutely loves this savory pie! They ask frequently when I'll be making this again. Made it as directed and came out beautifully, but certainly lends itself to variations on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spencerlamm2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nottingham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
A winner at our house. No mozzarella but used provolone, no problem. Subbed ricotta for mayo (used about a tablespoon of mayo to keep consistency smoother) Stuck with the garlic, spread about a tablespoon of parmesan over the reviewers' suggested mayo on crust. Also, from another recipe, dipped the tomatoes in flour before putting them down on crust. I was determined not to have a soggy crust, and I succeeded! The cheese mixture was still a little thick and hard to spread evenly. But it was creamy good once cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I subbed the mayo for ricotta and used a parm/swiss cheese mixutre (inspired by the submitter's suggestion). The girls and I enjoyed this as a main dish. After the pie set it was easy to cut into bite size pieces for my one year old and the three year old liked the idea of eating pie for dinner. I'm excited to try this again with some garden fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kaleishi
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This was SO delicious and flavorful! I just made a few small changes: Italian 5 cheese blend instead of just parmesan, I added 1/3 c. of chopped scallions, and reduced the garlic by one clove. Next time I will try spreading 2 T. of dijon mustard on the crust at the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was wonderful! I made my own crust using the Pie Crust IV, I also used low fat mayo cause thats all I had. This reminded me of eating margarita pizza. My husband and I loved it, we will be making this again. This recipe is a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Photo by primags
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Have cooked this twice. Both times came out excellent. Spreading the mayo at the end can be a little hard but I found a butter knife works better than a spoon. I used frozen crusts and pre-baked crust, added all ingredients, and then put in the fridge for cooking near the time of the pot luck I was going to. When it came time to cook several hours later I had no problems with sogginess, it came out great! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States