Summer Tomato Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I made a mistake and made this in a deep dish frozen pie crust. As a result, the filling did not reach the top of the crust. UGH! Changes: I used 1 tsp. of salt and thought it was a little too salty. Next time, I will use 1/2 tsp. and peel the tomatoes. I used 1 garlic clove split between the 2 layers, that was just right. I layered as instructed and added a couple shakes of oregano and couple shakes of crushed red pepper on each layer. My husband didn't like the cheddar cheese. I thought it was very good. It tasted like a pizza in a pie form. I will definitely make this again in a regular size pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Loved this! Did change it up a bit (sorry)! Added a layer of zucchini between top and bottom tomato layers. Had tons to use up. Put mayo on bottom of crust as others suggested. Also added vidalia onion slices between layers. Top layer was a mixture of mayo, mozzarella, parm, and Italian seasoning, spread over the top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Way too salty and soggy. Love tomato pie but not this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
It's just as easy to do 1 layer of all the ingredients instead of 2 layers as the recipe indicates. Also, I mix the mayo and cheeses -- it's easier to spread on top. Finally, I add fresh grated parmesan cheese which adds a wonderful flavor. I add meat when I want to make this side dish a wonderful main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Absolutely out of this world! Made only one change...subbed Greek yogurt for the mayo. Sent the recipe to my daughter so she can also experience heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This was delicious! I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Matt
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Instead of a prepared crust, I made a cornmeal crust incorporated blue cheese and drizzled with a balsamic glaze. When served chilled, I find diced cucumber and red onion slivers make a nice accompaniment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Just fixed this as part of Christmas Day luncheon and it was wonderful! It is extremely important that the tomatoes (I used four medium) be ripe and very thinly sliced. Peel them if the skins seem tough. Mine were the vine-ripened type so the skins were tender enough to leave on. Also, make sure the tomatoes are VERY dry before assembling the pie or you will be left with a soggy crust. I did find it most difficult to spread the mayo over the top cheese layer. Next time, I will blend the cheese with the mayo beforehand. I did omit the garlic in favor of scallions which my family prefers and added a little fresh-ground pepper. Very tasty take on a time-honored dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava Flavah!

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
It was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Good way too use up some extra tomatoes, I really liked this, but I also put mayo on the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Zapp Winningham

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States