Summer Sub Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made this a little differently, but I’m sure my result was quite similar to this recipe. I used a Torta Sandwich Roll that I split and toasted under the broiler. I opted for mayonnaise instead of cream cheese. I used the ham, provolone, no mushrooms, lettuce (but not shredded), the tomatoes, red onion and banana peppers. I brought my ingredients to room temperature and then put the ham on the bottom half of the roll. I popped it under the broiler just to warm it slightly, then added the provolone and put it back under the broiler, just long enough for the cheese to begin to melt. I added the remaining ingredients, serving the mayonnaise and banana peppers on the side. I can see adding some Italian dressing to this as well. Good sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Fast, easy, tasty and perfect for summer when I don't want to turn on the oven! We served it with chips, fruit and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRYSTA LYN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Great sandwich for a night when you don't feel like cooking! I left out the cream cheese and used combination light swiss and muenster instead of provolone. I added a little light mayo and left it cold - no microwaving! It went great with a dill pickle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I love this easy sandwich! Great for days at the beach. I mix some Italian seasoning in with the cream cheese for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
My husband loves sandwiches and thought this one was great! I sauteed fresh mushrooms also and like the idea of adding bacon - will try that next time. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
My family has problems with mayo, which is soy based. This is a great sandwich choice for us. Everyone who has tried it really likes it, and I've had many requests for the recipe. We even make it meatless sometimes, we just add more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
My partner's mother and cousin both have soy allergies, so they had to find a good sub without mayonnaise. This one was a great find! His mom made it one day and it was delicious! I don't eat meat, so my portion just had the veggies. I think she added more, maybe some peppers and stuff. My partner doesn't eat mammals, so his part had turkey instead of ham. It's a versatile recipe, which is essential in our family of special diets. 4 months later, it still came to mind and I got the recipe from her to make tonight! I'll probably add some oregano and basil to see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallard S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neponset, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
easy-used swiss cheese and garlic creamcheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Super easy, really good. I used fresh mushrooms, and added bacon. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States