Summer Style Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This recipe could easily be a 5 star with a few additions; Thanks to other reviewer's suggestions and some of my own. Try tossing the cut up chicken in a little Italian dressing. I like the idea of quartering my vegetables instead and adding vidalia onion. I seasoned the veggies with garlic salt, pepper, and oregano. I also used a can of petite cut tomatoes instead , so you get a little bit with evey bite. I used colby-jack cheese- instead -just 1 cup and then sprinkled a little shredded parmesan over that. The results were incredible. I did have a lot of juice too from vegetables and chicken cooking. I took out several T. and then served garlic bread with the meal for "soaking" up the juices. This is a new favorite for us and is a light dish to serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Durham Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
We were pleasantly surprised by this one! Had pre-cooked some chicken the night before so I chopped it into bite size pieces. I sauteed the zucchini & summer sq with 3/4 c chopped onion and about a tsp of oil, 1 clove pressed garlic, S & P and parsley. I also used some grated parmesan on top in addition to the mozarella. Since everything was cooked ahead, only had to bake about 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I used this recipe as a base for my dish and it turned out great- I used 2 yellow squash instead of 1 yellow, 1 zucchini because I didn't have a zucchini. My chicken breasts were in pieces but it worked fine. I added some olive oil, oregano, garlic powder on the chicken, and italian seasonings. I used the can of tomatoes like it called for but on top I sliced up fresh tomatoes and covered with oregano. I might change it up to add fresh tomatoes throughout because that made it really yummy. I changed the cheese to monterey jack which worked fine. I added some fresh garlic too. Next time I'll add mushrooms & an onion. It was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Excellent! I had to make a few changes to fit what I had on hand but it came out great all the same. I used only zucchini and a can of crushed tomatoes and added some oregano for flavor. Basically it tastes somewhat like a cross between chicken parm & cacciatore. Good & simple to make, everyone enjoyed it. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Arrigo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This is very good! I tried it with extra zucchini and squash, Swiss cheese on top, and added Italian seasoning, salt, and pepper. I thought the squash would be mushy after 45 minutes but it was perfect. Mine came out really watery so I will probably drain the tomatoes next time. Served with garlic bread to round out a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This was pretty good. I took some previous advice and marinated the chicken in Italian dressing, then also poured some on top of the chicken before baking, and I thought it was good. My husband said it could have used more flavor, so next time I'll just season the chicken with . . . whatever I have (parsley, chicken seasoning, sage, etc.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2004
Easy, tasty, and healthy!!! Unfortunately, the grocery store was out of zucchini (there must have been a big sale!) so I just used yellow squash, which I sauteed in olive oil and garlic for just a few minutes. This was delicious. Thanks so much :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This was a great light dinner. I had to make some adjustments due to what I had on hand. I used chicken tenders, one large and one medium zucchini and a medium onion. I wish I had some fresh 'shrooms but I didn't. I seasoned everything with some McCormick Roasted Garlic & Bell Pepper seasoning along with salt and pepper and a bit on Garlic and Herb Mrs. Dash. I let it cook for about half an hour without the cheese and then checked it to see how the veggies were coming. There was quite a bit of juice so I added some grated parm and mixed it in a bit then put it back in for about 10 minutes. I added some shredded asiago the last 5 minutes just to melt (I was out of mozzarella). I served it with some fresh italian bread with garlic butter and it was perfect! I can't wait to share the leftovers at work tomorrow! Thanks Andrea I know I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
YUM! This was a great and simple meal to make. What I did to make it fit our likes is: marinade the chicken in italian dressing then pour the chicken and the dressing in the dish then topped it with the stewed tomatoes and shredded cheese then cooked it for the same amount of time and temp. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
this was a good recipe--I would definitely recommend putting some sort of seasoning on the chicken before you cook it, though. And make sure you have plenty of tomatoes to eat with the chicken (since the chicken itself doesn't have much flavor). The zucchini turns out amazing--it's cooked to perfection in the oven. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States