Summer Style Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Excellent! I had to make a few changes to fit what I had on hand but it came out great all the same. I used only zucchini and a can of crushed tomatoes and added some oregano for flavor. Basically it tastes somewhat like a cross between chicken parm & cacciatore. Good & simple to make, everyone enjoyed it. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Arrigo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This recipe was a really good idea but the timing and/or temperature need work. While the chicken and cheese came out fine, the vegetables were underdone. I even let it cook another 15 minutes and gav e up when the cheese started to blacken. This needs work. One of the things that should be worked on is what happens if you add ingredients, like thin sliced potatoes or carrots. Also, how about some spices here?! Without out even salt and pepper, this is BLAND! Like I said, it's a good idea, but needs work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
If this is too bland for your taste, try using a can of Rotelle in place of the stewed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This was pretty good. I took some previous advice and marinated the chicken in Italian dressing, then also poured some on top of the chicken before baking, and I thought it was good. My husband said it could have used more flavor, so next time I'll just season the chicken with . . . whatever I have (parsley, chicken seasoning, sage, etc.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This is refreshing. I doubled the squash, zucchini, and added another can of stewed tomatoes. Served it over rice. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil'MadSavy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This recipe could easily be a 5 star with a few additions; Thanks to other reviewer's suggestions and some of my own. Try tossing the cut up chicken in a little Italian dressing. I like the idea of quartering my vegetables instead and adding vidalia onion. I seasoned the veggies with garlic salt, pepper, and oregano. I also used a can of petite cut tomatoes instead , so you get a little bit with evey bite. I used colby-jack cheese- instead -just 1 cup and then sprinkled a little shredded parmesan over that. The results were incredible. I did have a lot of juice too from vegetables and chicken cooking. I took out several T. and then served garlic bread with the meal for "soaking" up the juices. This is a new favorite for us and is a light dish to serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Durham Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Very nice light recipe. I added some spices (Garlic, Lemon Pepper, Italian Seasoning, Salt, ect.) Turned out very tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This is very good! I tried it with extra zucchini and squash, Swiss cheese on top, and added Italian seasoning, salt, and pepper. I thought the squash would be mushy after 45 minutes but it was perfect. Mine came out really watery so I will probably drain the tomatoes next time. Served with garlic bread to round out a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I used this recipe as a base for my dish and it turned out great- I used 2 yellow squash instead of 1 yellow, 1 zucchini because I didn't have a zucchini. My chicken breasts were in pieces but it worked fine. I added some olive oil, oregano, garlic powder on the chicken, and italian seasonings. I used the can of tomatoes like it called for but on top I sliced up fresh tomatoes and covered with oregano. I might change it up to add fresh tomatoes throughout because that made it really yummy. I changed the cheese to monterey jack which worked fine. I added some fresh garlic too. Next time I'll add mushrooms & an onion. It was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
This is a great base recipe. I marinated it in Italian dressing (the chicken) for a while before baking, without that, I'm not sure if I'd have thought it had enough flavor. I also added garlic powder, garlic salt and pepper for a little extra flavor. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States