Summer Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I followed the recipe and found that it was very liquidy. It tasted very good and I will try again. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I found this very sweet. I would exchange the strawberry and rhubarb totals for a more tart pie. Otherwise it was quite yummy. Instead of flour I used small bead tapioca. It soaks up the moisture without adding flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This recipe was REALLY yummy, but the filling was too much for the pan. It was also very liquid and took extra long to bake. I recommend using 1.5 cups of diced rhubarb with 2 cups hulled strawberries and 1/2 cup flour in the filling. On a side note... I found the "ready to use" frozen doughNfoil sets to be very dry. I recommend making the dough from scratch. You can get a basic dough mix in the cake section of the supermarket and then kneading it by hand. Makes it REALLY special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jyoung
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I am a rookie baker and this pie turned out really great! I over did the nutmeg a bit since I didn't pre-measure it (just grated it in the bowl). I followed the advice of one review and combined all the ingredients in a sauce pan over medium heat first to taste and after it cooled I added it to the crust. Also, I brushed a beaten egg and water mix over the top crust before putting it in the oven to assist in getting a golden crust. I was unsure about the whole berries but it worked really well! Overall a very nice recipe and so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jyoung

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by britpip
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This pie came out perfectly! The sweetness is just right, though I did skimp on the sugar by about 1/4 cup. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I've eaten and made this many times. It always turns out great ang gets a lot of good feed back. So easy to make and so nice for a summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
boo hiss, too wet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Loved it!!!!! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This ia almost the same as the one I've been making for years except I put everything in a large sauce pan on top of the stove and cook everything until it thickened up and I can taste it to be sure its right, I have found over the years that the flavor depends on the the berries and rhubarb being used, sometimes they are not as sweet as other times.There is nothing more up setting than having used all the ingredients and having your pie come out too tart or too sweet. Anyway I let my mixture cool abit then put a lattice top on and bake. I do this with all my fruit pies, and it works everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States