Summer Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
LOVE this jam! This is the best recipe for beginner canners! Change the servings to 135 US and you'll get 8 (8oz) jars or 4 (16 oz) jars. The jam is sweet, spreadable, and easy to make. I'm a beginner with canning and this was my first recipe, it was easy and foolproof. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HODDIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Good consistency. Make sure and reach the hard boil. It's perfectly okay to mash berries all at once. This was sweet enough because our berries were sweet. If not, I would have needed another 1/3 cup of sugar. If you do this, premix the 1/3 cup with the pectin, adding before the first boil. It's very important to follow directions closely for jam to set properly, so don't deviate if it is your first time to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Absolutely perfect. The berries and sugar ratio was a little sweet but you come to expect that from most berry jams. Simple enough that my oldest boy and I could make this together--the directions were explained very well. He was quite pleased with himself. This strawberry jam recipe reminds me so much of Grandma it hurts, but it's a bittersweet hurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This is a perfect jam for the beginner! I have never made jam before and this came out perfectly. I scaled the recipe to 48 servings because I had exactly 2 c. of crushed strawberries to use. Next time I'm going to try it with the same amount of sugar as strawberries because this was just a tad too sweet. It set up beautifully though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
My first time making jam, it was easy and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I have made this time and time again first time exactly as recipe states and it was very very good. We have been slowly decreasing the sugar until we find what the minimum amount would be to our satisfaction. This was my first attempt at jam and it never sits long enough for me to worry about it expiring...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
AMAZING! I'll be canning several more jars this weekend for my family and some friends and coworkers. LOVE IT !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ashville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Perfect strawberry jam! So fresh and good! Easy instructions to follow, can't miss on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Sooooooooo good!! My first time making jams and came out great. I decide to use brown sugar instead. I also made another jam with strawberries and pineapple. Great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States