Summer Squash Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Every now and then you come across a dish that's just a little differerent than most, a little more creative and that is also delicious. This was one of those pleasant surprises that ended up appealing to me on every level. This is NOT the same old (boring) zucchini salad we're all so familiar with. Our trusty mandolin made quick work of julienning the vegetables, and doing so made this particularly attractive. I didn't measure ingredients because zucchini varies in size, first of all, and because we all should measure and season to suit our own tastes. I also used Splenda in place of sugar and I appreciated the fact that the recipe only called for enough of it to balance out the tang of the mayonnaise and vinegar, not so much that it made the salad sweet. The only thing I didn't like about this, and it certainly is no fault of the recipe, is that the zucchini gives off a lot of liquid. This salad, in my view, is best made no more than a couple of hours in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
A very colorful and unique salad. A nice alternative to the usual grilling of summer squash and zucchini. I used red onion and cider vinegar for mine. You don't need to double the dressing, it's just like regular coleslaw just let it set in the fridge for a couple of hours. It also helps to mix the dressing separately and toss everything in tupperware with a tight fitting lid so the dressing is evenly distributed over the vegetables. My picky husband who at first was skeptical because the vegetables weren't cooked liked this and took the leftovers to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This was pretty good. Made a lot more than I thought it would. Bright and colourful addition to the plate, and healthy too. Next time I will let it sit longer to see if the flavours blend a little more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I was in desperate need of a new way to use up my garden abundance of squash and zuchinni, and this recipe was PERFECT! I took it to a BBQ yesterday and it was a huge hit! Not a spoonful left, and I DOUBLED the recipe. A few people were shocked to find out it didn't have noodles. They were SURE it was part pasta. REALLY really good, and the dill sauce was REALLY flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wazski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I was looking for a way to use up some of our abundant zucchini and squash and decided to give this recipe a try. The only change I made was to leave out the onion (can't do raw onion). While I didn't really care for this plain, I did like it on top of a sandwich. Thanks for sharing this unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katiew97
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I took this to a picnic. Everyone loved it and was super surprised that the squash wasn't raw. I used slightly larger squashes & zucchinis because that's what I grew, so I made 1 1/2 of the dressing. I also used extra dill and I would have liked even more, but it was still great as-is. I have already passed this along to several friends who had it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I tried this as part of our Christmas lunch (using extra virgin olive oil instead of the vegetable oil). Everyone loved it! Here in the tropics, the ingredients are available almost all year round so I'll definitely make it again. A great alternative to traditional cole slaw for those of us who cannot use cabbage - Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
As a young wife at a church full of excellent cooks, it was intimidating to bring something to the salad supper. I picked this because several of the ladies were diabetic and they could still eat this. It got rave reviews and continues to get them to this day! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I was surprised how much I liked this recipe. It's a different way of serving rather bland squash. I think the dill dressing adds quite bit of zip to it. I'd recommend doubing up on the dressing, though. That's the highlight of this dish (or perhaps my sqaush were too large?!). Even my husband and son gave this recipe high marks. Now, that's praise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Wow! This salad is a winner. My onion was bad, so I didn't add the onion and it was still great. This is a nice change from the usual salads you see at barbeques.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States