Summer Squash Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Delicious and light. I forgot the dill (!) and the dish was still gorgeous and tasty. Definitely added to my list of dependable recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I was in desperate need of a new way to use up my garden abundance of squash and zuchinni, and this recipe was PERFECT! I took it to a BBQ yesterday and it was a huge hit! Not a spoonful left, and I DOUBLED the recipe. A few people were shocked to find out it didn't have noodles. They were SURE it was part pasta. REALLY really good, and the dill sauce was REALLY flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wazski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Very nice. A delicious way to use those summer veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Quick, easy, budget friendly, and yummy! That's my kind of recipe! I didn't add the pepper (I don't do well with red or green peppers) and doubled the dill. It was great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puckerup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I was surprised how much I liked this recipe. It's a different way of serving rather bland squash. I think the dill dressing adds quite bit of zip to it. I'd recommend doubing up on the dressing, though. That's the highlight of this dish (or perhaps my sqaush were too large?!). Even my husband and son gave this recipe high marks. Now, that's praise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This is very good. I used fresh dill because I had some and some orange pepper with the red. I took it easy on the onion. I noticed other reviewers talking about not having enough dressing, but I had a little too much. I think this really depends on the size of your squash and how long you let the slaw sit in the fridge. I would suggest NOT doubling the dressing to start with unless you have giant zucchini. Its easy enough to make more if you need it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
A very colorful and unique salad. A nice alternative to the usual grilling of summer squash and zucchini. I used red onion and cider vinegar for mine. You don't need to double the dressing, it's just like regular coleslaw just let it set in the fridge for a couple of hours. It also helps to mix the dressing separately and toss everything in tupperware with a tight fitting lid so the dressing is evenly distributed over the vegetables. My picky husband who at first was skeptical because the vegetables weren't cooked liked this and took the leftovers to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
As a young wife at a church full of excellent cooks, it was intimidating to bring something to the salad supper. I picked this because several of the ladies were diabetic and they could still eat this. It got rave reviews and continues to get them to this day! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This recipe is...interesting. It looks beautiful, but the taste leaves something to be desired. I can't really describe it...this just tasted strange. If you want to try it, make sure that your squashes have tender, soft skin...one of mine was tough, and that didn't help any. Thanks for sharing, but I'll pass!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I tried this as part of our Christmas lunch (using extra virgin olive oil instead of the vegetable oil). Everyone loved it! Here in the tropics, the ingredients are available almost all year round so I'll definitely make it again. A great alternative to traditional cole slaw for those of us who cannot use cabbage - Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States