Summer Squash Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This was pretty good. Made a lot more than I thought it would. Bright and colourful addition to the plate, and healthy too. Next time I will let it sit longer to see if the flavours blend a little more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Every now and then you come across a dish that's just a little differerent than most, a little more creative and that is also delicious. This was one of those pleasant surprises that ended up appealing to me on every level. This is NOT the same old (boring) zucchini salad we're all so familiar with. Our trusty mandolin made quick work of julienning the vegetables, and doing so made this particularly attractive. I didn't measure ingredients because zucchini varies in size, first of all, and because we all should measure and season to suit our own tastes. I also used Splenda in place of sugar and I appreciated the fact that the recipe only called for enough of it to balance out the tang of the mayonnaise and vinegar, not so much that it made the salad sweet. The only thing I didn't like about this, and it certainly is no fault of the recipe, is that the zucchini gives off a lot of liquid. This salad, in my view, is best made no more than a couple of hours in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Wow! This salad is a winner. My onion was bad, so I didn't add the onion and it was still great. This is a nice change from the usual salads you see at barbeques.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I was looking for a way to use up some of our abundant zucchini and squash and decided to give this recipe a try. The only change I made was to leave out the onion (can't do raw onion). While I didn't really care for this plain, I did like it on top of a sandwich. Thanks for sharing this unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I think this recipe should state "medium size" squash; there's no way this would serve 10 with small squash. Anyway, took to a church potluck and received many compliments. I doubled the dill and added 1 tsp Italian seasoning, let it sit overnight, and it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Julienned by hand! Not too tough but I'm into shortcuts. Need to get a gadget because this is one recipe that I am definitely making again. So simple but so delicious. Great side for anything grilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ_FELTUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katiew97
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I took this to a picnic. Everyone loved it and was super surprised that the squash wasn't raw. I used slightly larger squashes & zucchinis because that's what I grew, so I made 1 1/2 of the dressing. I also used extra dill and I would have liked even more, but it was still great as-is. I have already passed this along to several friends who had it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I tried this as part of our Christmas lunch (using extra virgin olive oil instead of the vegetable oil). Everyone loved it! Here in the tropics, the ingredients are available almost all year round so I'll definitely make it again. A great alternative to traditional cole slaw for those of us who cannot use cabbage - Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This recipe is...interesting. It looks beautiful, but the taste leaves something to be desired. I can't really describe it...this just tasted strange. If you want to try it, make sure that your squashes have tender, soft skin...one of mine was tough, and that didn't help any. Thanks for sharing, but I'll pass!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
As a young wife at a church full of excellent cooks, it was intimidating to bring something to the salad supper. I picked this because several of the ladies were diabetic and they could still eat this. It got rave reviews and continues to get them to this day! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States