Summer Squash Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
OMGOODNESS!!! This was so tasty. I made a double batch of these. I added 1/2 tsp of garlic and 2 cups of cheddar cheese. With the last 10 puffs, I added 1/2 cup of corn. The taste was good but I didn't like picking deep-fried corn kernels out of my teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Just had these for dinner and was a big hit. Very easy to make. I did not change anything with this recipe. It makes a lot, so I may cut in half next time. Depends on how the leftovers reheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barnesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is really good! When I made this, I kept all the ingredients exactly the same, but changed a bit of the way they were used. Instead of simmering and mashing the squash, I grated it just like the onion, and then instead of deep frying, just sauteing, with 2 tablespoons of butter. Somewhat like a pancake, loosely speaking. While it isn't puffy like a deep-fried fritter, it was quite good and with a little less in the fat calorie column. The fat content is the only reason I didn't give a full five stars, but that is just a personal thing. Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This is wonderful! Mine started off a little watery so I added more of the dry items and some Panko (jap. bread crumps) the Panko seemed to make the puffs even lighter. We made a few the first night and saved the batter for the next day in frig. We took it to work and deep fried them in Peanut oil and served with bacon, sour cream and salsa on top WOW!!! what a hit, everyone wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Best way to have fried squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
If I could give this 10 stars I would. I only had dried chopped onions, so I cooked them with the squash and pureed them all together. I took others' advice and added a little garlic powder. Otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I had planned on taking these to a potluck, so I tried them out on the crew of college age house painters working on my house first. They loved them, so I took them to the potluck. I let my son and his friend each try one in the car and they took a "vote" to eat all the puffs in the car and not even take them in to share. This from a boy who gags on cooked summer squash! I over-rode their vote and got several requests for the recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
a nice recipe, alittle on the greasy side But good flavor. thanks for sharing!!:}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
I brought this to a cookout and a lot of people wanted the recipe. Theyre kind of greasy, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I absolutely loved these squash puffs. I cooked half of them as is and added some cheese to the rest of the batter. Great either way. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I tried this recipe today. Don't know what I did wrong but when I mashed them all I got was water and seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States