Summer Squash Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I grew a lot of squash last summer and was looking for recipes to use it up in. I had my doubts about this recipe, but as many people commented favorably, I tried it. I would add more onions and cheese next time and maybe some fresh garlic. The puffs turned out great and I sent some to my neighbors. Normally I do not eat fried foods, but will make an exception for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Excellent! I used Jiffy cornbread mix. Tasted like hushpuppies. My husband ate every last one of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
These were so good they kinda reminded me of a Hush Puppy, the only thing I would change the next time I make them would be not to put my onion in the food processer and to chop my onion so I would have the crunch of the onion next time but they were good If you don't want the crunch of the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Awesome Recipe! I used a small cookie scoop to make the "fritter"-perfect size! Also, I used garlic salt instead of regular salt, and added some shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
THESE WERE VERY GOOD. JUST REMEMBER NOT TO MAKE THEM TOO BIG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Earth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
These were enjoyed by the whole family, even the kids. I pureed the cooked squash in my blender, which took care of tough skin problem as well as great measuring cup. I had some left over bacon from breakfast that I chopped up and added in. Only used 1/2 the batter first time I served, then made up the rest next night. I think the dough worked even better after being refrigerated 24 hrs. I also only used tsp. sized portions as suggested by others and they cooked great. Second night I dusted them with parmesan cheese, which was extra yummy! Looking forward to playing with other suggested variations in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
These were absolutely delicious! I didn't have corn muffin mix, so I used plain corn meal and it was fine. I also added fresh garlic. Be careful to make them smaller though...they tend to be wet inside if they're too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
OMGOODNESS!!! This was so tasty. I made a double batch of these. I added 1/2 tsp of garlic and 2 cups of cheddar cheese. With the last 10 puffs, I added 1/2 cup of corn. The taste was good but I didn't like picking deep-fried corn kernels out of my teeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Just had these for dinner and was a big hit. Very easy to make. I did not change anything with this recipe. It makes a lot, so I may cut in half next time. Depends on how the leftovers reheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barnesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is really good! When I made this, I kept all the ingredients exactly the same, but changed a bit of the way they were used. Instead of simmering and mashing the squash, I grated it just like the onion, and then instead of deep frying, just sauteing, with 2 tablespoons of butter. Somewhat like a pancake, loosely speaking. While it isn't puffy like a deep-fried fritter, it was quite good and with a little less in the fat calorie column. The fat content is the only reason I didn't give a full five stars, but that is just a personal thing. Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States