Summer Squash Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
These were wonderful. My only complaint is that cooking/mashing the squash left the batter too moist (because the squash takes on water, which only gets worse if you boil it too long!), and that in turn made the puffs greasier. My suggestion would be to either add more flour/cornmeal, OR only puree the *raw* squash and use that instead of the cook/mashed squash (use 2 cups of puree just like 2 c. of the mash). I've tried this with zucchini and it worked wonderful. Also, if you want to use something in place of Jiffy cornbread mix: 2 T. of sugar, an extra tsp. of baking powder (3 tsp. total), up the salt by 1/4 tsp. (1 tsp. total), and use 2/3 c. cornmeal (or a cornmeal/white flour mix if that is too "corny" for you).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
It is the BOMB!!!!!!!! I love it .....my children loved it and my parents loved it. My neighbor gave us alot of squash...Thank u for sharing the recipe. I give it 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
My family loved these!! It was a great way to get them to use the yellow squash that had been multiplying in our refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Add the garlic and cheddar cheese and these are 5 stars all the way if fried up nice and golden
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bracken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was excellent! It reminds me of how my mom makes her left over mashed potatoes into potatoe cakes. Excellent flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Ever since moving to "the south" 12 years ago, I have been trying to find a good recipe for hush puppies. I've tried at least two dozen recipes, and haven't found a keeper. Last night, I decided to try this recipe, since we have an over-abundance of summer squash. When my husband tried one, he said "Oh my god, these are the BEST hushpuppies I've ever had. You HAVE to keep this recipe." That is when I told him they were not actually hush puppies but summer squash puffs. They were soooo good, we couldn't stop eating them. My husband even went back to get more after dinner to have as his "dessert". I made this recipe exactly as written, except I used a whole box of Jiffy cornbread mix, rather than just 2/3 of a cup. I will definitely be making these all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I made a few changes based on what ingredients I had on hand. First, I used butternut, rather than summer squash. Second, I left out the onion. Also I substituted garlic salt in place of the regular and corn meal for muffin mix. The biggest change I made was to pan fry rather than deep fry, to cut out some of the calories. Simply sprayed my skillet with a little Pam and dropped by teaspoon fulls. Flattened a bit and flipped. Since I cooked them this way, they were more like Squash Pancakes than puffs (think potato pancake texture). Either way, they were fantastic! I made a half batch, and using about a tsp for each, I made 30 puff/pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
My kids love this recipe! It's a great way to use the squash fresh from the garden (which they refuse to eat, if cooked). I added 3/4 cup of grated cheese. I also sauteed onions and garlic before adding it to the mixture. Wonderful! I could not cook these up fast enough for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Makes a lot. I thought it would be messy to fry them but it wasn't too bad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This reminds me of flat hushpuppies... I used the food processor to grate the onions and mash the cut up cooked squashes which was less work. I used the recipe for half the batch...the other half..i added garlic powder and italian seasoning. next time i'll try it with cheese or corn and panko crumbs to make it crispier. It's prettier to serve it with sour cream,salsa, chopped bacon and green onions on top. Thanks for the idea~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States