Summer Squash Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was excellent! It reminds me of how my mom makes her left over mashed potatoes into potatoe cakes. Excellent flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Ever since moving to "the south" 12 years ago, I have been trying to find a good recipe for hush puppies. I've tried at least two dozen recipes, and haven't found a keeper. Last night, I decided to try this recipe, since we have an over-abundance of summer squash. When my husband tried one, he said "Oh my god, these are the BEST hushpuppies I've ever had. You HAVE to keep this recipe." That is when I told him they were not actually hush puppies but summer squash puffs. They were soooo good, we couldn't stop eating them. My husband even went back to get more after dinner to have as his "dessert". I made this recipe exactly as written, except I used a whole box of Jiffy cornbread mix, rather than just 2/3 of a cup. I will definitely be making these all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I made a few changes based on what ingredients I had on hand. First, I used butternut, rather than summer squash. Second, I left out the onion. Also I substituted garlic salt in place of the regular and corn meal for muffin mix. The biggest change I made was to pan fry rather than deep fry, to cut out some of the calories. Simply sprayed my skillet with a little Pam and dropped by teaspoon fulls. Flattened a bit and flipped. Since I cooked them this way, they were more like Squash Pancakes than puffs (think potato pancake texture). Either way, they were fantastic! I made a half batch, and using about a tsp for each, I made 30 puff/pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
My kids love this recipe! It's a great way to use the squash fresh from the garden (which they refuse to eat, if cooked). I added 3/4 cup of grated cheese. I also sauteed onions and garlic before adding it to the mixture. Wonderful! I could not cook these up fast enough for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Makes a lot. I thought it would be messy to fry them but it wasn't too bad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This reminds me of flat hushpuppies... I used the food processor to grate the onions and mash the cut up cooked squashes which was less work. I used the recipe for half the batch...the other half..i added garlic powder and italian seasoning. next time i'll try it with cheese or corn and panko crumbs to make it crispier. It's prettier to serve it with sour cream,salsa, chopped bacon and green onions on top. Thanks for the idea~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
These were good, but a little to greasy to eat all the time. We will include these in our summer/fall seasonal dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
These were fantastic! My zucchini hating son LOVED them! I did not boil the zucchini first, just used the food processor to grate them and the onion. Also, I fried them in an inch or so of oil and they were perfect. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Graham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
A great way to use up squash from my garden. I used a few suggestions from the other reviewers. I shredded my squash and used it without precooking and pan fried the fritters in a little bit of olive oil. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
My first review, but I had to say thanks for this awesome recipe! I have a ridiculous amount of squash growing in the garden and was determined to do something with them that all 3 of my kids would eat. These were fantastic and I didn't change a thing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States