Summer Squash Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
These are sooooo good! Like potato latkes made from squash! I added a little red pepper to the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Was surprised when they came out like hush puppies. My first batch came out a little too bland. Added some spices & about 1/3 cup sugar and it made them sweet to my liking. I also tried some with berries & some with chopped fruit. I did a few of mine with sugar and fruit, but you could probably get desired sweetness with just fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Reek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Make with any kind of squash. Salt fresh out of oil. Must be very small to cook middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
These are good and pretty easy to make. I think next time I will try them without mashing the squash. I felt like it would be better to have small pieces of the squash in there rather than just mashed and mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Delicious! I added 2/3cup sharp cheddar and sauted my onion before adding it. Will add garlic next time. I like to have mine for breakfast with cheese grits. This will be my staple squash recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonchyldcrab82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I made these for a BBQ at our house and they got eaten as fast as I could make them! I followed advice from other reviewers and added 1 cup cheddar cheese to the squash mixture and 1/2 tsp garlic salt to the flour mixture. I used a TBSP measuring spoon for dropping into the oil and had no problems cooking all the way through even though I boiled my squash first. This was a great way to use my yellow squash that had grown too large on the vine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Not sure what went wrong but these didn't go over very well. Something missing. Seemed like a lot of fuss and I didn't get the flavor I was after. Oh well, sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
We absolutely loved this recipe!! I made a few changes. No one in our house likes summer squash so I have to really hide it. I shredded the squash and since I needed some liquid I added about a half cup of water. Batter turned out perfect. I also used Jiffy corn muffin mix and hubby said I could make these anytime:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Fan"freakin"task!!! We couldn't wait until each batch was done cooking before tearing into them. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Tipple

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Perry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I just made these. They are very good. I made the first batch just as the recipe says, then I srarted to have fun. I made a second batch and added different things. I did not peel the squash. I did some with cheddar cheese, red peppers, monteryray jack, very old smoked gouda, and hot peppers. All turned out delious. I then froze some and then let them thaw and heated in the toaster oven. This also turned out good. You can put almost anything in them. My husband wants horesradish in them the next time. These will be on my list for things to make for Christmas entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States