Summer Squash Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
WONDERFUL!!! A fun and tasty way to use the overflow of squash from the garden!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I sprinkled a little feta cheese on top... couldn't stop eating it! We ate it as a side dish or appetizer, and not as pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
As long as you squeeze as much water out of the squash as possible, this crust cooks evenly and perfectly. You do have to be sure to cook it for as long as directions say; it does get pretty brown but that's OK! I added about 1/4 cup extra flour (by accident) but it seemed to help. And my husband said this was the best pizza crust he ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAJUNSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
I really liked this crust. I made a couple of alterations. I used whole wheat flour instead of white, left out the cheeses and used one egg. I topped the crust with the Exquisite Pizza sauce from this site, shredded spicy chicken, sauted onions and sun dried tomatoes. This was all topped with jalapeni tofu cheese. Next time I think I'll spread this a bit thinner. I drained the shredded zucchini for several hours and wrung it out well before adding other ingredients. This was a no guilt pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
This was terrific. I used the whole wheat flour like others suggested and it turned out fabulous. Topped it with shrimp and diced tomatoes and a guilt free gourmet pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
This is a very creative and delicious way to use squash! I'm on a modified low-carb diet (whole grains only, lots of veggies) so this was perfect for me after substituting whole wheat flour. I topped this with traditional pizza toppings and it was wonderful! Definitely does not taste like squash. I used frozen grated squash from last summer's harvest. I thawed and drained it, then spread it out on paper towels, salted, and let it stand to get out as much water as possible. I didn't have enough parmesan cheese, so I used about half the amount called for and added more whole wheat flour to make up for it. When I spread it in the pan it was very sticky so I dusted it well with more whole wheat flour and rolled it out thin. It turned out very crispy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I was slightly doubtful about this recipe, but it was absolutely wonderful. I topped it with a tomato alfredo sauce, a small amount of grated mozzarella, sauteed Italian turkey sausage, red peppers, mushrooms, spinach, and onions. It might have been the first time my husband gave rave reviews to something so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I used 2 9" cake pans instead of the jelly roll pan. It makes it cook more evenly and makes it look more like a pizza crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DHARMABUMX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This is a keeper. Did use whole wheat flour as suggested. Also going to limit my toppings. Had too much when I made this. Was good, but I think less would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Very good! I used whole wheat flour instead of regular, and I spread it pretty thin in the pan. I ended up with 16 servings of yummy pizza crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EGGIWEG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Cauliflower Pizza Crust

See how to turn cauliflower into tasty, gluten-free pizza crust.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Gluten Free Pizza Crust

Easier than most gluten-free recipes, and as tasty and crispy as any pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States