Summer Squash Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I have made this twice and it has been delicious every time. It is imperative to get the squash as dry as you can. I use 2 1/2 pan size pans to bake this, and press it out to about 1/4 of an inch thick. It is an irregular shape, kind of like an oval. I also use olive oil pan spray on my hand when pressing it out to keep it from sticking to me. A couple of changes I made were: reduced it down to 6, but still get 8 slices. Use 2 1/2 egg whites (helps it to crisp) add garlic powder and oregano. It browns up nicely and is the close to a hand tossed crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
I saw other reviewers had trouble with a soggy center -- thanks for the tip. I think I found a good trick! I let the zucchini sit in a colander, weighted down with a slightly smaller bowl and some canned veggies, in the fridge for about an hour. Then I squeezed it by hand and got rid of even more water. Used just 1 whole egg and 1 egg white, and spread the mixture pretty thin, reserving leftover for a small patty to bake. Nicely crisp, and even my very picky boyfriend loved the pizza that we made. I'll make this again, despite the extra time it takes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This crust recipe is brilliant!!! My family had NO idea that this was made from squash. Hubby and I are low carbers and this is a keeper in my file!!! Three things make this recipe alot less labor intensive...non stick spray, to keep the dough from sticking to your hands...parchment paper makes flipping the dough a cinch...cheesecloth lets you wring almost every drop of liquid from your squash---the drier your squash is the better your end result will be---this really is the key to success with this recipe. I shredded the squash til it was almost a puree and suspended it over the sink in a cheescloth bag for most of the day, then wrung it nearly dry. I added onion and garlic powders, oregano and pepper to the dough for added flavor. I added an extra egg white for crispness. I agree that thinner is better for this crust and might leave out the mozzarella next time, subbing it for extra parm. This makes a great traditional pie with sauce and pepperoni, but would be great with any variety of toppings. I know I won't be giving away my excess squash from the garden this year! Dawn, thank you for this wonderful guilt-free recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
As long as you squeeze as much water out of the squash as possible, this crust cooks evenly and perfectly. You do have to be sure to cook it for as long as directions say; it does get pretty brown but that's OK! I added about 1/4 cup extra flour (by accident) but it seemed to help. And my husband said this was the best pizza crust he ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAJUNSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Like some others said, I let the squash drain a couple hours, then I really squeezed it till dry. To bake it, I put parchment paper on the pan first, then turning it over onto the cookie sheet was a breeze!!!! We covered it with a little ranch dressing, then cooked, chopped chicken, sliced black olives, tomatoes, more ranch, then shredded pizza cheese. Absolutely wonderful--even my kids who hate zucchini loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
WONDERFUL!!! A fun and tasty way to use the overflow of squash from the garden!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
This is a very creative and delicious way to use squash! I'm on a modified low-carb diet (whole grains only, lots of veggies) so this was perfect for me after substituting whole wheat flour. I topped this with traditional pizza toppings and it was wonderful! Definitely does not taste like squash. I used frozen grated squash from last summer's harvest. I thawed and drained it, then spread it out on paper towels, salted, and let it stand to get out as much water as possible. I didn't have enough parmesan cheese, so I used about half the amount called for and added more whole wheat flour to make up for it. When I spread it in the pan it was very sticky so I dusted it well with more whole wheat flour and rolled it out thin. It turned out very crispy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Tasted good, had some issues making the recipe though. Was far too wet, took twice as long to bake. Maybe my fault, maybe the recipe, I'm not sure, but next time I make it I'll be a lot more careful to fully dry the squash. Also seemed like too much for the pan, too thick, will be dividing the recipe for two crusts next time. I love a crispier crust. Also I added some garlic and fresh oregano to the mix, gave it a really nice flavor. Would definitely recommend this with a few little changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
After flipping I would suggest broiling for almost 7 minutes. We'll definitely do a thinner crust next time and set out the squash on a baking pan to dry ALL DAY. We had it in a colander for at least 4 hours and the recipe was still a little moist........but OH SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I sprinkled a little feta cheese on top... couldn't stop eating it! We ate it as a side dish or appetizer, and not as pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Cauliflower Pizza Crust

See how to turn cauliflower into tasty, gluten-free pizza crust.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Gluten Free Pizza Crust

Easier than most gluten-free recipes, and as tasty and crispy as any pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States