Summer Squash Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Tasted good, had some issues making the recipe though. Was far too wet, took twice as long to bake. Maybe my fault, maybe the recipe, I'm not sure, but next time I make it I'll be a lot more careful to fully dry the squash. Also seemed like too much for the pan, too thick, will be dividing the recipe for two crusts next time. I love a crispier crust. Also I added some garlic and fresh oregano to the mix, gave it a really nice flavor. Would definitely recommend this with a few little changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
While the flavor was okay, it was way too salty. I only put a few shakes of salt on the squash. I can't imagine using the full measure of pepper. Just used a few dashes and it was plenty for me. Recipe was a lot of trouble for the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Really liked this, for a low-cal crust alternative. A bit high in sodium and fat, but hey...Will make it again. I baked it in 2 10-in pyrex pie plates, and it came out sufficiently crispy. I didn't bother with the "flipping" part. Watch out on the broiler part. I broiled one of my crusts for 3 minutes and it was darn near burned. The second one I only broiled for 1 minute. Overall, a nice alternative crust for home-made pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I thought this had *awesome* flavor but not the flavor of pizza per se. I used yellow (summer) squash and only used parmsesan (not mozzarella) cheese. I messed up the flipping and it looked like scrambled eggs/a messy omelet. I would make this again. I'll reinforce that you need to take the crust out of your pan (cake pan, springform, casserole dish, etc.) before you top it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MedMimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
I used frozen zucchini from our garden last year, drained WELL, but wasn't impressed as a pizza. Instead of using a jelly roll pan I used a springform pan which worked great instead of trying to turn it over with a spatula. As a baked flat bread this would be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Very good! I used whole wheat flour instead of regular, and I spread it pretty thin in the pan. I ended up with 16 servings of yummy pizza crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EGGIWEG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This is a keeper. Did use whole wheat flour as suggested. Also going to limit my toppings. Had too much when I made this. Was good, but I think less would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I used 2 9" cake pans instead of the jelly roll pan. It makes it cook more evenly and makes it look more like a pizza crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DHARMABUMX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I was slightly doubtful about this recipe, but it was absolutely wonderful. I topped it with a tomato alfredo sauce, a small amount of grated mozzarella, sauteed Italian turkey sausage, red peppers, mushrooms, spinach, and onions. It might have been the first time my husband gave rave reviews to something so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Flipping the crust is almost impossible. I ended up having to cut it into quarters. The taste was great, the ease of preparation and presentation were not so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States