Summer Squash Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
OMG, this is officially my new favorite pizza crust!!!! I will never make the regular pizza dough ever again after having this! My few minor changes: I replaced half of the flour with my sourdough starter and it gave it a real kick! sooo good! I also added extra parm instead of the mozz. Lastly, i added a tablespoon of oregeno, 2 garlic cloves diced up, and some parsley. I had to stop myself from eating the entire thing after I made up my pizza so that I would have leftovers for lunch today. Kudos to the originator! and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Wonderful way to hide veggies! My hubby loves pizza & hates vegetables, he had no idea there was zucchini in this & had 3 servings. It was a little soft in the middle but good still. I'll make this again to use up extra zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This was a decent crust for my BBQ chicken pizza, but it too difficult and much too time consuming to make for just an O.K. taste. I was able to use the squash I grew and I wanted something different, but I can't see making this again. All the parmesan cheese negates the low fat content of the squash so I don't see a real advantage. I made it thin on one pizza and thicker on the other. The thin was MUCH better. It needs to be crispy to be good. I don't think it would be good at all on a traditional italian style pizza, but with the BBQ pizza it was O.K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was really yummy! I didn't flip and didn't have any problem with sogginess. I wish I would have followed the advice to use parchment paper though since it stuck to my cookie sheet. Topped with pizza sauce, spinach, feta and artichokes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
A surprisingly good use for summer squash. I was pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edna, Kansas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Really good! Had some trouble flipping it, but will try lining the cookie sheet with parchment next time. Hopefully that will help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
WONDERFUL!!! make this before you judge it....sooooooo good...my husband loved it and prefers it over regular pizza crusts now....it is def. important to flip it though...AMAZING!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I really liked this recipe. I did not have 3/4 cup of parmesan so I substituted with 1/2 cup bread flour. I used cheddar cheese instead. I also used parchment paper which made flipping so simple. It is different and not quite like pizza dough but very good. Would definitely make this again. It can be eaten alone or with toppings. I spread a little guacamole on it and it tasted good. **I am making this recipe for the 2nd time and followed directions exactly. I would definitely use parchment if ever making it again. It was kinda messy without it. Olive is good on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
The flavor was fine, if you like squash, but IMO this crust was just too much work. When I'm having a "pizza night" I tend to want something quick and easy for the crust. I agree with other reviewers who said they could see this more as a flatbread, cut into sticks or wedges. Also, definitely use parchment, as another reviewer suggested, that makes the whole flipping issue so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I liked this a lot! My husband is very picky, noticed something was different about this crust and disapproved when I told him what it was made with (he hates squash), but I honestly thought it tasted just as good as any other pizza crust. Somewhat different texture, but not bad by any means, just less "bready". I made sure the squash was drained and well wrung dry, added some whole wheat flour to the all-purpose in place of the mozzerella (had none), and added a little oregano, garlic salt, and onion salt. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States