Summer Squash Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
This is a very creative and delicious way to use squash! I'm on a modified low-carb diet (whole grains only, lots of veggies) so this was perfect for me after substituting whole wheat flour. I topped this with traditional pizza toppings and it was wonderful! Definitely does not taste like squash. I used frozen grated squash from last summer's harvest. I thawed and drained it, then spread it out on paper towels, salted, and let it stand to get out as much water as possible. I didn't have enough parmesan cheese, so I used about half the amount called for and added more whole wheat flour to make up for it. When I spread it in the pan it was very sticky so I dusted it well with more whole wheat flour and rolled it out thin. It turned out very crispy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
This was terrific. I used the whole wheat flour like others suggested and it turned out fabulous. Topped it with shrimp and diced tomatoes and a guilt free gourmet pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
An interesting use for leftover shredded squash but just not my thing. It definitely needs to be spread thinly to get crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2004
I really liked this crust. I made a couple of alterations. I used whole wheat flour instead of white, left out the cheeses and used one egg. I topped the crust with the Exquisite Pizza sauce from this site, shredded spicy chicken, sauted onions and sun dried tomatoes. This was all topped with jalapeni tofu cheese. Next time I think I'll spread this a bit thinner. I drained the shredded zucchini for several hours and wrung it out well before adding other ingredients. This was a no guilt pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2004
As long as you squeeze as much water out of the squash as possible, this crust cooks evenly and perfectly. You do have to be sure to cook it for as long as directions say; it does get pretty brown but that's OK! I added about 1/4 cup extra flour (by accident) but it seemed to help. And my husband said this was the best pizza crust he ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAJUNSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
I saw other reviewers had trouble with a soggy center -- thanks for the tip. I think I found a good trick! I let the zucchini sit in a colander, weighted down with a slightly smaller bowl and some canned veggies, in the fridge for about an hour. Then I squeezed it by hand and got rid of even more water. Used just 1 whole egg and 1 egg white, and spread the mixture pretty thin, reserving leftover for a small patty to bake. Nicely crisp, and even my very picky boyfriend loved the pizza that we made. I'll make this again, despite the extra time it takes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
I had the same problem as another reviewer -- the outside got nice and crispy but the middle stayed soggy. I think the key is getting as much water as possible out of the zucchini, but after making this two times, I still can't get it right. It's a shame, because the flavor is great! If anyone else has made this and has tips for how to make it bake evenly, please post them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
This did make a nice refreshing summer dinner. was looking for a pizza crust that didn't call for yeast. we added tomato sauce, more shredded zuccini, thin sliced yellow bell pepper, and spicy cheese. I made a half recipe since we're just 2 but I'd make the full next time. However, either it's my oven or the recipe doesn't cook evenly, as the dough was burning on the edges and soft in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I sprinkled a little feta cheese on top... couldn't stop eating it! We ate it as a side dish or appetizer, and not as pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
WONDERFUL!!! A fun and tasty way to use the overflow of squash from the garden!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Cauliflower Pizza Crust

See how to turn cauliflower into tasty, gluten-free pizza crust.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Gluten Free Pizza Crust

Easier than most gluten-free recipes, and as tasty and crispy as any pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States