Summer Squash Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I actually thought this was too flavorful as a pizza crust (unless you are just topping with sauce and cheese). It would be great cut into long strips and served as a breakstick-type item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
AWESOME!!!!I couldn't believe it...my kids ate it up (HAAHAA!!) I process summer squash and drain in a cheese cloth 30 minutes and then really squeezed it. I topped with spinach garlic feta olive oil and oregano...it was gone in no time! thanks i will use this a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leah
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Delicious! A little softer than the usual crust, but that makes it more dynamic! I made a regular mushroom pizza with it, but next time I think I'll try some feta and artichokes as suggested. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I've never written a review before, but I have to add my 2 cents - this is a really neat recipe. It's not 'exactly' pizza crust, but it's a pretty close. My husband wasn't as crazy about it as I was but considering how much healthier and lower-carb it is than real pizza crust, and how much I am addicted to pizza - I LOVED IT. I would never have thought that it was squash if I hadn't known. It's amazing! I made it with 1/2 whole wheat 1/2 unbleached flour, in cake pans, as suggested and it made 3 9" crusts. They flipped over pretty well for the most part. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Like some others said, I let the squash drain a couple hours, then I really squeezed it till dry. To bake it, I put parchment paper on the pan first, then turning it over onto the cookie sheet was a breeze!!!! We covered it with a little ranch dressing, then cooked, chopped chicken, sliced black olives, tomatoes, more ranch, then shredded pizza cheese. Absolutely wonderful--even my kids who hate zucchini loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I used yellow baby patty pan squash and really squeezed it dry. I put the crust on non-stick foil and this made it really easy to flip. This was really tasty, but next time I may add more seasons like basil, oregano and garlic powder to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This is a very tasty way to have your pizza but lessen your carb intake! Try using an alfredo type sauce and lots of vegetables as topping. I used sweet onions, fresh tomatos, black olives and artichoke hearts. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I made two crusts from this recipe, pressed them out very thin, and had no problem with flipping or sogginess. I added oregano and garlic powder. This recipe was a little too animal product intensive (cheese and eggs) than I prefer, but had good flavor and was an okay change from our usual fare. Quiche fans would probably enjoy this recipe. Thanks for sharing, Dawn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I have made this twice and it has been delicious every time. It is imperative to get the squash as dry as you can. I use 2 1/2 pan size pans to bake this, and press it out to about 1/4 of an inch thick. It is an irregular shape, kind of like an oval. I also use olive oil pan spray on my hand when pressing it out to keep it from sticking to me. A couple of changes I made were: reduced it down to 6, but still get 8 slices. Use 2 1/2 egg whites (helps it to crisp) add garlic powder and oregano. It browns up nicely and is the close to a hand tossed crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
After flipping I would suggest broiling for almost 7 minutes. We'll definitely do a thinner crust next time and set out the squash on a baking pan to dry ALL DAY. We had it in a colander for at least 4 hours and the recipe was still a little moist........but OH SO YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Cauliflower Pizza Crust

See how to turn cauliflower into tasty, gluten-free pizza crust.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Gluten Free Pizza Crust

Easier than most gluten-free recipes, and as tasty and crispy as any pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States