Summer Squash Pizza Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I made this and did not tell my boys what is in it and they loved it. The crust is very tasty and I am not a fan of straight squash. The leftovers got soggy after a day or so but this will be a keeper in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
An interesting way to use up all this squash! I followed the advice of others and let the squash strain for a few hours, then sqeeeeeezed it as dry as possible. The thinner the better when you spread it out. This was a very tasty, healthy meal for us when we topped it with even more veggies. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This recipe has been great for our family. My kids will eat it and they don't even know it is made from vegetables. I have expanded the veges, I include both zucchini and summer squash as well as carrot, and garlic. Sometimes I throw in other things that are around. I use a juicer to get the pulp very dry very quickly. A great way to get your five a day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This crust recipe is brilliant!!! My family had NO idea that this was made from squash. Hubby and I are low carbers and this is a keeper in my file!!! Three things make this recipe alot less labor intensive...non stick spray, to keep the dough from sticking to your hands...parchment paper makes flipping the dough a cinch...cheesecloth lets you wring almost every drop of liquid from your squash---the drier your squash is the better your end result will be---this really is the key to success with this recipe. I shredded the squash til it was almost a puree and suspended it over the sink in a cheescloth bag for most of the day, then wrung it nearly dry. I added onion and garlic powders, oregano and pepper to the dough for added flavor. I added an extra egg white for crispness. I agree that thinner is better for this crust and might leave out the mozzarella next time, subbing it for extra parm. This makes a great traditional pie with sauce and pepperoni, but would be great with any variety of toppings. I know I won't be giving away my excess squash from the garden this year! Dawn, thank you for this wonderful guilt-free recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was a lot of work, but for a healthier pizza alternative it was good. My husband didn't eat it, but my kids did, and I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
For the people who have a difficult time flipping it(like me), you can cook it on a non stick skillet. I put a small amount on and spread it thin. If you try to wait as long as you can to flip first time, it is much easier to get the rubber spatula underneath quickly. They turn out much like potato pancakes. My kids like to dip their bites into pizza sauce on the side of the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Flavor is good... Have made it twice now, and am still having difficulty with the flipping, but am working thought that. Center is soft, and once toppings are added, tends to get mushy. The edges are my favorite part :) Despite some of the troubles, my family loves the flavor, and we're not ready to abandon just yet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This tasted great. Even my husband liked it! He especially liked the fact that the crust wasn't oily or greasy. I took the advice of others and dried out the zucchini as much as possible. It wasn't soggy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This was delicious! and what a great way to sneak veggies into my kids dinner! I took the whole thing a few steps further by adding eggplant with the squash. I also put spinah in the tomato sauce and topped it with lots of mozzarela and pepperonis! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I have made this twice and my whole family loves this crust better than regular crust. I am not a big fan of summer squash, and neither are my kids...but they will eat this and tell me how much they love it!!! Great way to get veggies in their system.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Cauliflower Pizza Crust

See how to turn cauliflower into tasty, gluten-free pizza crust.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Gluten Free Pizza Crust

Easier than most gluten-free recipes, and as tasty and crispy as any pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States